Meaningful Gifts of Love and Friendship

It seemed appropriate on International Friendship Day to share some really special things two very important friends and sisters (one biologically, one by heart) did for me recently. There’s just something about certain gifts. You know, the kind that let you know that the giver took a lot of time and understands who you are at the core. They did that for me, and it meant the world.

While I was in Chicago I got the opportunity to spend time with one of my oldest friends. Although we talk online and over the phone, we haven’t seen each other since my wedding. She lived down the street from me when we were in middle school. We had slumber parties at each other’s homes. When my brother died, she was one of the first people to make it to the accident site. She took care of my younger sister while I rode in the ambulance. She was with us the day we had to let him go. She held my hand and cried with me. And after I moved away, when the world would close in, all it took was a phone call to her. She’d come get me and help me escape my own head for a while.

Seeing her again was a treat all on its own, but as is typical of her, she outdid herself. She decided to get me a couple of amazing belated birthday gifts.

Is this not totally me?

Is this not totally me?

My fabulous friend remembered that I love to write letters. On paper. So she found some quirky stationery that suited me. Nothing too mature. Or plain. Or snooty. She found something playful. With a doggie…and a writing theme!

But she didn’t stop there. Remember what I said about her in the first few paragraphs? Well, she also found a keychain with a built in charm locket. Check it out!

Isn't it adorable?

Isn’t it adorable?

It’s got paw prints, then a “K” for Kitt…and a heart that says Sister. Because, really. That’s what we are to one another. How’s that for making a gal feel loved?

Those of you who either follow me or are my friends on Facebook may have already seen the amazing gift my bio sis got me for my birthday while I was in Chicago.

Fire Agate and Jasper

Fire Agate and Jasper

As pretty as the jewelry is, it was the meaning behind the gemstones that caused my sister to purchase these beautiful pieces.

Did you know that there’s actually a whole story behind fire agate and that it’s supposed to promote certain properties? According to some paperwork my sister printed out to go with the gift:

“Fire agate helps manifest Divine guidance through action, and assists one in taking decisive action in unclear circumstances. It increases passion, emotions, and reconnection to one’s deepest desires, and provides courage to take risks to fulfill those prompting. It can stimulate sexual and physical energy and increase stamina and circulation. A stone of creativity and expression, it is particularly helpful in overcoming artistic blocks of all kinds. In the workplace, it is a crystal of ambition and high achievement. It helps writers express ideas in marketable form.

And that’s just some of what it says about fire agate. How cool is it that there was something specific to writers? She knew that when she chose this gift.

And then there’s the Jasper.

“The unique artistry of Jasper is that of Nature itself- golden sunchine, a nighttime sky, poppy fields or a deep green forest, desert sands, the undulating ocean, red rock canyons, sweeping mountains. EAch stone is a masterpiece of the Creator, bold and primitive in style, solid and earthy in form, with a warm, harmonious energy that resonates with the primal self. Known as the ‘Supreme Nurturer,’ Jasper is a stone of grounding and stability, providing comfort, security, and healing. Its presence balances the aura to a level of wholeness and peace, and acts as a reminder that one is not here on the physical plane simply for oneself, but to bring joy and substance to others.”

Yup! My sis really considered me when choosing the types of stones she wanted to get me. She picked things she though would compliment or strengthen me, and I was blown away. I usually buy my jewelry purely on appearance (unless we’re talking pearls or alexandrites–those are my birthstones). She took it a step beyond, then shared the whys.

Now I find myself completely intrigued with gemology and looking at stones in a completely different light. They showed me in their actions just how much I mattered to them and completely blew me away in the process.

It only seemed appropriate to recognize their loving gifts on Friendship Day.

By the way, many of you have wowed me with your support and comments and your generous hearts. I’m grateful for every one of you, as well. So, on Friendship day, I’d love to hear about a time when a friend did something generous for you that blew you away…. And I’d really love to know if you’re into gemology.

I’ll also leave you with this song about three awesome friends…because it sort of reminds me of my gal pal, my sister, and me.

21 Comments

Filed under Sharing Is Caring

21 responses to “Meaningful Gifts of Love and Friendship

  1. I loved this post and lived that video! Thank you so so much for sharing.

  2. You have awesome friends, Kitt! So happy they could make you smile 😊 I actually always have a gemstone on me and keep them around the house for specific reasons. Even my son takes part in a bedtime ritual we have with them and sleeps with them under his pillow. I’ve been a firm believer of their powers for years now and I’m glad to see others benefitting from them too! Happy Friendship Day, my friend! I wish you lots more smiles in all of your days!

  3. One of my favorite things to do is pick a gift for someone I think they will really love. An old boyfriend from college once walked four miles to deliver a 24 pack of Diet Coke, accompanied by the sweetest card ever. One of the sweetest gestures ever, even though he turned out being one of the biggest jerks ever.

  4. The closest I ever got to gemology was a mood ring I bought eons ago. LOL!

    Sounds like you have friends who really know you well.

  5. I love when I get such meaningful gifts from friends. So glad you are surrounded by such caring people, Kitt :)

  6. What a perfect post to write for International Friendship Day. You’re fortunate to have such good friends who know you through and through. I’ve never heard of fire agate before, but feel like I need some immediately. I wonder if its effects are as powerful when you buy it for yourself as when a thoughtful friend gives it to you? Perhaps I will find out. ;-)

    [Susie sent me, btw.]

    • Hi, Ally! Nice to meet you. I think fire agate is beautiful & powerful–regardless of whether you obtain it as a gift or a gift you give yourself. :-) I think when someone who loves you gives it to you, it simply adds an extra layer of magic.

      Love that Susie. She rocks!

  7. anna@herding cats & burning soup

    Aw what a lovely post Kit!

  8. Beautiful Post :) Here’s to Friendships! Happy Weekend

  9. C.J.

    I forgot about 80′s ladies! Love it! I love rocks. Rocks and colors can change mood and temperament. We all have energy to share! XO

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

