Look, I Did It!

The lovely Up and Comer Mae Clair has tagged me to take part in the “LOOK” challenge. Mae’s story revolves around a marine archaeologist and a woman 10 years his senior and a treasure hunt. Intrigued? So am I! She has submitted her WIP to her publisher for consideration, so my fingers are crossed for her.

So how does the LOOK challenge work? ‘Tis fairly simple and a lot of fun!

  1. Find the first usage of the word ‘look’ in your WIP and paste the surrounding paragraph into your blog.
  2. Tag as many people as you want to take part in the challenge with you.

My current WIP is still as sketch and has not yet been given a title.

My first use of the word look appears in the first page. My heroine, Fiona Barrett, had just boarded a redeye after a very long day of missed flights and being stranded in airports. She’s tired, cranky and wants to get home. So, of course, that means it’s time to introduce her to the hero. This is from her POV. :

~ooOOoo~

It had been several minutes since the gate attendant had made the final boarding announcement and the flight crew appeared to be making their final arrangements. She looked back toward the main cabin and was glad to see that everyone appeared to have settled in. Grateful she’d had the forethought to pull out her iPad in advance, she figured she’d be sitting solo on this flight. She had just crossed her legs, the swirling pattern on her teal and white cotton skirt riding up to mid-thigh when a man’s voice, like smoke and crushed velvet said, “Beggin’ your pardon, ma’am, but I’m gonna need to slide past you in just a moment.”

~ooOOoo~

Yes, the hero is from the south and comes with a delicious accent. There’s nothing more delicious than a southern voice calling me “Darlin'”…except maybe an Aussie voice. Aussies can say whatever they want, and they’re pretty much guaranteed I’ll find it sexy. It’s my Kryptonite!

Like I said above, this is just a sketch. It’s not yet a full story, nor is it fleshed out. Feedback is always appreciated! Feel free to leave a comment.

According to the rules I can tag anyone I want, but the problem is, I’m new to this particular blog and don’t know very many people yet. The only person I probably would’ve known to tag is Mae Clair, and she tagged me!

So I’m not officially tagging anyone, however, if you’re intrigued or enjoy these challenges, or simply feeling daring…go for it and come back and let me know you did it!

4 thoughts on “Look, I Did It!

  1. Mae Clair says:

    You certainly have me intrigued, Kitt! Love the visuals . . .her teal and white cotton skirt riding up to mid thigh; his voice like smoke and crushed velvet. WOW! Lovely look at your WIP. Thanks for playing along and tagging me back. And I have to agree with you about Aussies,although an Irish or Scottish accent does it for me too. 🙂

  2. theinnerwildkat says:

    Thank you! I’m glad you tagged me. It was a fun exercise. I also appreciate the poritive feedback. As for the Scottish and Irish accents? Yes, they have major yum factor as well. 🙂

    • theinnerwildkat says:

      Thank you. The process is actually pretty simple. If you are writing, look at your work in progress (aka WIP), find the first paragraph that has a variation of the word “look” in it, and post it. From there, if you know people, tag them to participate. Does that help explain? 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

