Priceless Treasures

20120831-182740.jpg

To the average person, this little book probably doesn’t seem like much. To them, it’s just another book. To me, it’s priceless.

I’ve had this book since June of 1989. If you look, you’ll see it’s well maintained. In pristine condition. If you were to open it you’d see an inscription. Nothing major, just my name written with fancy curly lettering followed by “Happy Birthday” and my friend’s signature.

It was given to me on the last day of my freshman year of high school along with a bookmark that said “Get Me To The DIRTY Part” and my second blank journal book. She’d given it to me on that day because we wouldn’t be seeing each other on my birthday.

That was a very difficult time in my life. Not only was I dealing with a new high school because we’d moved, but we were also handling the loss of a close family member. I was the new kid who didn’t know anyone. Kids are cruel at that age and they mocked my love of writing, especially poetry. I learned to wrap my gift close to my heart, hidden from the world.

But somehow she knew. This little book was a symbol of her deep understanding of the fifteen year old me. She saw the inner romantic that my tomboy side hid. She knew and appreciated my inner need to write of love and grand passions. She found the gift that fueled my inner poet’s dreams and imagination. It was her way of telling me to keep writing. So I filled that blank journal with poems often inspired by the classic poems in the other book she gave me. In fact, I still have that book, too.

And I valued her friendship. She moved away our junior year. Unfortunately, as with most things, time and distance got in the way and we lost touch. The last time I heard from her was nearly twenty years ago. I think of my friend fondly, hoping she is well and has found a love deserving of her generous heart.

That book became a symbol to me; a reminder that the good things in the world far outweigh the bad and we need to hold on to them. It’s a reminder that love and romance still exist and should be cherished. But most of all, it’s a reminder to follow your dreams and value the people who value you. I think she’d be thrilled to know that I still write today.

Everyone has priceless treasures, things that they hold near and dear to their heart. What are yours? What do they mean to you? What things helped to shape who you are today? Share with me….

8 thoughts on “Priceless Treasures

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Once, shortly after I was first married, I ended up in the hospital for one of those overnight ‘we-just’want-to-make-sure-you’re-okay-things.” My husband was with me and (he told me later) he wanted to get me something to make me smile. So he went down to the hospital gift shop. On the way in, he encountered my sister coming out. She had bought the only unicorn in the shop (I collected unicorns in those days). My husband knew how much I loved unicorns and felt bad he hadn’t bought it earlier but bought me a crystal Bluebird of Happiness.

    I can’t tell you how much that bluebird means to me. To this day, it sits by the bed on my nightstand so that I see it every night before I go to sleep and every morning when I wake up – – – many, many years after he gave it to me.

    Loved your story too, Kitt. I recently got a letter from a close friend that I haven’t heard from since high school. It brought a lot of great memories back!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      That is so sweet! I was just thinking, both gifts, your sister’s and your husband’s, probably fed two very different but important parts of who you are. The unicorn fed your dreams, fantasies and imagination…I mean, it IS a unicorn. And that bluebird of happiness was the little daily joys that life brings. The things that help us see otherwisE ordinary things that can touch people in extraordinary ways.

      I may be wrong, but that’s what Your story told me. Thanks again for sharing such warm memories. (yeah, the poet in me is always looking for symbolism…and you give it in spades!)

      • Mae Clair says:

        Oooh, I love that interpretation. You are an extremely poetic person and I’m right there with you! Every time I look at that little bluebird, I’m reminded of my husband’s love. And I still have the unicorn from my sister too!

  2. amadiex says:

    The two things that stood out about you back in the day was your singing and your poetry! I remember you reading me your poetry and in fact inspired me to try my hand in it. I think that is even time you got me into country music! Your friend knew your heart and those are the best gifts!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Yeah, she really did. I keep hoping I’ll run into her on one of the social networking sites. I hope she’s happy. Like you, she was an artist (albeit a closet one). Last I heard she went to Sweden for a year of her college experience. She was a brainiac. 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

