The Color Of Fall

Everyone has a favorite season, right? Living in Florida,we have two seasons. Rainy/hurricane season and sunny/summer season. Most of the time I’m perfectly good with that. Except during the fall. If it weren’t for Starbucks and their pumpkin spice lattes, the neighborhood kids going back to school and football season, I probably wouldn’t even know fall had arrived.

And the thing about fall is it’s so vivid, so rich with colors! I loved seeing the changing leaves, the slightly cooler weather. I loved going for walks when I lived up north. I loved seeing all those greens turn to reds and orange and yellow and rusty browns. I love Halloween and Thanksgiving!

And everyone has a favorite color, right? I know mine. It’s orange. I love the color. It’s beautiful and vibrant and warm. And unfortunately I’m a winter and can’t wear the color without looking washed out. Bummer.

But today I was missing fall, and the orange, so I did the next best thing. I brought the fall into my kitchen… Here is what I did today.

20120910-213135.jpg

This is the batter from the pumpkin bread I made today.

20120910-213318.jpg

I made three loaves. I guess it must have smelled pretty good because I stepped away, but when I got back, a slice had been cut. My husband had gotten home and cut himself a piece. He said that he and the dogs agreed that it tasted great. LOL!

20120910-214102.jpg

And for a refreshing drink, I made a wonderful, fresh cantaloupe juice. I hadn’t made it since I was a kid living in the Philippines. It’s made with water, the juice from the cantaloupe strained into a pitcher, half of the cantaloupe grated, like cheese, the slices and juices added to the pitcher. Then add water and half a cup of sugar. Stir, and voila! Hubby tried it for the first time and loved it!

What about you? What is your favorite season and why? What things and colors do you associate with it?

17 thoughts on “The Color Of Fall

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says:

    Wow – I’ve never tried cantalope juice – that’s a new one on me. When I get all hot and thirsty after being in the garden, it sounds downright refreshing. Starbucks makes a good pumpkin loaf — but I’m sure it’s not as good as yours. I also love fall as I know that’s taking me into winter and I love winter clothes. I love the long sleeves and layering and all that goes with it. Here in Arkansas, we didn’t have a fall last year – we went straight from summer to winter. This year it may be more of the same. We’ve had a blistering hot summer and little rain. Without the rain and a couple of hard cold snaps–we won’t get those brilliant fall colors on the trees. I think I smell that pumpkin loaf–how about bringing some over and I’ll make the lattes?

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Sheri- cantaloupe juice IS refreshing…and super easy to make. As a child, I’d pick it over koolaid any day:-). I, too, like Starbucks’ pumpkin loaf, but you’re right, nothing quite beats home made. :-). You know, winter clothes can be pretty cool… I like long sleeved shirts and flannel, not to mention soft, sexy sweaters, but I hate stepping out of my flip flops… :-(.

      I am more than happy to share my pumpkin loaves with you while we enjoy our lattes. I know the conversation will be superb! 🙂

  2. Mae Clair says:

    So you have me thinking about warm pumpkin bread now and craving a slicee. I’ve never been a fan of cantaloupe but that drink sounds so refreshing. I can just imagine how could it would be on a hot summer day!

    My two favorite colors are green and blue, probably because they relate to earth, sky and water. If I had to name a favorite season I would probably pick spring but I’m a fan of all of them. I so love autumn with all its jewel-bright colors and earthy, smoky scents and am looking forward to the temperatures turning brisk so I can curl up inside.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Mae, if you lived next door I would’ve hand delivered you a loaf. And I bet you’d like cantaloupe juice even if you’re on the fence about the melon. I know that’s how it worked for me as a girl. (nothing could make me like honeydew, though). Actually, greens and blues are some of my favorite colors to wear…bright gem tones are my thing. But, there is something about that burnt orange color that’s drawn me. The color looks fantastic on my little sister, but I can’t wear it without looking like a corpse dressed in orange (maybe like a Halloween lawn decor, heh!)

      Curling up inside when it’s cool? Yeah…I like that…

  3. amadiex says:

    I had to laugh, guess who’s favorite color is orange. Sienna! She stated, “She is like me momma!” Then she had to wear her favorite orange shirt. It makes her happy! Fall is my favorite time of the year! I am the most alive! Feeling the air turn crisp as it enters your lungs. Holding on to that pumpkin spice latte while watching the leaves turn colors. I love the feel and hearing the leaves crunch underneath you as you go out for a walk. I am so happy during this time. I love Halloween and Thanksgiving. It seems to be a time of reflection for me as well. Thinking and getting in touch with who I am and were I want to go, not to mention reaching out to family. Its just a good time.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Aww! I love that my enjoyment of that color is just one more tie between me and Miss Sienna. Give her a hug for me. I’d forgotten the sound of leaves crunching under my feet. I used to love that, too. Guess I really have been in the south for a long time if I’d forgotten that memory. Did I mention I’m thankful for you? 🙂

      • amadiex says:

        Awww I am thankful for you to! I am so glad that we have remained such good friends for all these years!! Your like my older sister that had to show me up on how to do “Flash Dance!” Your friendship is very much valued!

  4. CJ says:

    I have to say, I agree…I love the fall. The crisp air when the leaves are changing and the smell of apple pie in the oven. Good times. Can’t wait to share a taste with you!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

