“I Won’t Let Go”

Today is a hard day.  As many people have been saying, the last time our country experienced a loss of this magnitude was Pearl Harbor.  And yet…there’s something more!

Yes, we as an extended family that is these United States, experienced a humongous loss.  But we also came together in a way we haven’t done very often before..or since.  We took the time to call our families.  To grieve for those directly impacted by the tragedies, either as victims of the direct crashes or first responders.  Many of us prayed for the first time in forever.  Begging for people to be found.  For our families to be safe and untouched.  We cried together.  United.  As a community.  We hugged people standing beside us…to reassure ourselves that we would be okay.  To give comfort.  And we got angry.

It was the first time since Pearl Harbor that we’d been hit on our own soil.  It made us feel vulnerable.  It made many feel patriotic.  Wanting to fight.  To stop future violence.  To avenge those innocents who fell.  It spawned songs that spoke of patriotism and became battle cries.

Years later, the impact is still just as strong when the words 9-11 are brought up.  And it should!  We lost so much as a family…as a country that day.  We don’t just forget because it’s easier.  We reflect.  We remember.  We pray.  We lend our strength for those still struggling with the loss of their loved ones who’ve been forced to move forward, to raise families…forever missing a member.  Never to be whole again.

I know that feeling.  Before 9-11 happened, 9-11 was my brother’s birthday.  He died nearly 30 years ago.  And yet I remember him like it was yesterday.  I honor him.  In my memory, he’ll always be a kid.  And I find a way to smile.  It’s hardest for me on his birthday.  My husband and I set our wedding date close to this day to bring more positive memories around this date.

Why did I pick this title and this song?  Because I think it’s important that we continue to be there for each other.  To support each other.  To let the world know that these people who were impacted are our family.  And we’ll love and support them through this day and every day.

If you’re reading this and were directly impacted by that horrible day…know that I’m here to support you.  You can lean on me and…”I Won’t Let Go”

 

8 thoughts on ““I Won’t Let Go”

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says:

    Thanks for being there, Kit. We also have to remember the soldiers we are still loseing on the battlefield at the rate of 1 per day. How if feels to the families when that black car pulls in front of their house with the flags mounted on the two front fenders. The family knows the officers are coming to the door to let them know, their son or daughter has been killed in action. We are also loseing 1 soldier a day to suicide and a veteran every 18 minutes to suicide – there’s something terribly wrong with our society that we can’t love enough, respect enough, care enough, heal enough to help make our country whole again. It’s unfortunate that Mr. Romney couldn’t even mention the sacrifice thousands are making daily when he accepted his nomination for President of this country. He knows his sons will never have to fight–they’ll never need a job–they are of the privledge class. They are of the 1%.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I pray for our troops daily. As a child of the military, myself, I can tell you, the life isn’t for everyone. I respect greatly those who are willing and able to do the job that very few want and sacrifice themselves for our freedom and our safety regardless of our political views.

      To me, this particular blog is to honor those we lost, those who were left behind and those who are fighting daily to preserve our freedoms, politics aside.

      Thanks for stopping!

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Beautiful post, Kitt. I remember my parents talking and saying they will never forget where they were and what they were doing when they first heard about the attack on Pearl Harbor. I feel that way about 9/11. And I remember afterward, how all I wanted to do was be at home, safe, secure with my husband and family. It was horrible to think loss could strike so horrifically and in such great numbers.

    Strange as it may seem, one of the things that sticks out most in my mind about that day is the people who jumped from the towers rather than letting fire take them. Can you imagine being forced to face such a horrific choice?

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    I watched the second tower come down with my own eyes that day and obviously will never forget not only that horrific morning but the feelings over the coming days, months, and years.
    It’s been a rough 11 years.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I can only imagine! My heart was in my throat and I only heard it on the radio. What a thing to have imprinted on your heart and on your mind. My heart goes out to you. It couldn’t be easy.

  4. radaronelson says:

    I remember when it happened, I looked at my ex and told her, expect me to be gone within a couple weeks and sure enough I was for 6 months.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

