My Anniversary

“This sacred vow I make to you

Does not contain an ‘if’

Though I’m aware that trials lie ahead.

I will love you and pray with you

And through it all, I will stay with you

Our home will be a refuge of

Unconditional love.”

verse of Cherish The Treasure

Sung by:  Steve Green

This song was sung by my sister and a friend at my wedding three years ago tomorrow.  On that day I vowed to love, honor and cherish my best friend.  This man is the most loving and patient man I know.  Personal fears and family scars from my parents had me afraid to take the leap for so long.  But, like I said, he’s my best friend and he’s patient.  He was willing to spend 16 years reassuring me that he wasn’t going anywhere.  He knew what he wanted the moment he saw me and he brought me around to his way of thinking.  For that, I’ll always feel blessed and grateful.

I still remember the first time I heard this song.  I was sixteen years old.  I had been asked to sing at a family friend’s wedding along with another guy from our church.  I remember hearing the words and thinking that they would make pretty awesome wedding vows.  Back then I had a romantic streak a mile wide (some would say it’s still there, just below the surface) and I hoped that the man I fell in love with would be vocally gifted.  Why?  Because I thought it would be so romantic and cool if we sang our vows to each other.  That didn’t happy, but I got the best guy in the world instead.  I think it’s a fair trade.

Practically every little girl I ever knew planned what their wedding day would be like.  When you thought of your wedding day, what did you see?  Did music play a part?  If you’re married now, was reality anything like the dream?

Now, as for anniversaries…there are themes to these things.  Did you know that?  The first anniversary gift is supposed to be paper.  Which was fine with us!  We were still recovering from paying for our wedding, so we decided cards was it.

Second anniversary is cotton.  Waiting for me before we headed out to dinner with my sister and brother in law that night was a beautiful gift bag with streamers and colored tissue and balloons.  And inside?  A bag of cotton balls!  LOL!  Yes, my husband is that awesome!  I cracked up.  When we got back from our dinner, my real gift was waiting for me.  Vera Bradley purse, lunch bag and all sorts of little knick knacks.  What did I get for him?  Well, he’s a big Ed Hardy fan…so I got him a couple of Ed Hardy boxers.  😉

Tomorrow is our third anniversary.  Well, that means it’s our leather anniversary.  Fun, right?  A little on the kinky side?  If you were me, what would YOU get him?  I’ve already got his gifts…(and yes, one is kinky…care to guess?)

Anyway, that also means tomorrow night I won’t be posting a new blog.  I’ll be spending my time with my honey.  I’ll still be getting your comments during the day and on my smart phone, but…  Tomorrow is for my man and me, so my responses probably won’t come till Friday, either.

Enjoy your night…  I know I will!

12 thoughts on “My Anniversary

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Wishing you an awesome anniversary. Sounds like you got a good guy and made the perfect match. There’s one of those for each of us. Happy Anniversary to you both. Enjoy your special time together!

  2. L.J. Kentowski says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! You guys sound like the perfect match and it’s so nice to see you’re still making marriage fun 🙂 Hope you get every piece of leather you want 😉 A guess for a gift? Hmmm…I’m going with chaps 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Aww…thanks, LJ! As for the chaps…I like the way you think! Truthfully, I thought about it and decided to go a little more risque. Since he got me cotton balls last year, I figured everything was fair game. So, I went to a sex toy shop…actually two (and I’ll probably blog about those experiences soon, LOL!). I considered getting a flogger (but had a concern I might wind up on the wrong side of that…LOL! Then I thought about a collar, but that’s not really either of our styles…not even for fun. So I went with an adjustable c-ring. I wrapped it and acted like that was my only gift to him. It wasn’t. He’s lost nearly 170 lbs in the last year and a half, so what he really needed was a new leather belt. I had that, along with a really nice pair of Tommy Bahama dress shorts wrapped and hidden in the bedroom when he got home from work. 😉

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

