Genre Favorites Blogfest

So I blame Sydney Aaliyah for introducing me to Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh‘s fun Blogfests.  So here I go, trying my hand at this one.  Genre Favorites Blogfest.  The instructions are as follows…

List your favorite genre:
Movie
Music
Books
And a guilty pleasure genre from any of the three categories!

So my favorite Movie Genre is:  Romantic Comedies (I know, how much more predictable could I be, right?)  I’m a sucker for movies like Maid Of Honor, The Ugly Truth, 27 Dresses and many more.  Who could blame me?  They’re feel good movies.  And right behind that is Comic Book Movies…so there!

Favorite Music:  For a poet like me?  That’s easy!  Country!  With those strong lyrics and beautiful ballads…and words that I can still understand?  Yeah.  Definitely country.  Plus, they grow their men sexy…nothing like looking great in a pair of worn jeans and cowboy boots.  Plus, I dig that whole southern accent, and even their bad boys could be taken home to meet mom.  😉

My favorite Books have been leaning in the same direction as what I’ve been enjoying writing lately, though what I like to read varies.  Right now it’s definitely Erotic Romance, more specifically leaning toward BDSM and Menage.  Yes, I like the classics, but even more, lately…I like them raunchy with a bit of down and dirty…especially if it’s in a loving relationship.  So give me some Cherise Sinclair and Sophie Oak and throw a little bit of Bella Andre and I’m a happy girl.

My guilty pleasure category?  Hmmm….  It’s not really in the movie category…more in the tv genre.  My guilty pleasures are soaps.  General Hospital (Since I was 3…RIP John Ingle), Dawson’s Creek, Felicity, Days Of Our Lives, even Queer As Folk…(I have the box sets of Dawson, Felicity & QAF).  I was even into 90210 and Melrose back in the day.  I like to think I’m too cool for soaps, but the truth is, I love them.  I manage to escape their pull every once in a while only to be sucked back in.  Like I said…I’ve been watching GH since I was three.  I was living in Germany when I saw Luke & Laura get married.

So there you have it, folks…My Genre Favorite stuff.  And the truth comes out.  I’m not always that deep…LOL!  Enjoy your night and feel free to play along.

10 thoughts on “Genre Favorites Blogfest

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says:

    Okay, Kit. It’s in the wee hours of the morning so hope my answers are still on target my noon tomorrow. My genre picks: Music – Easy Listening and Classical Piano + fond of Celtic Thunder and any number of others. Books: Fiction with a purpose – must have angst and character growth. I also read a lot of non-fiction and biographies. Movies – Drama is supreme. Blue Butterfly is one of my all-time favorites. At the opposite end of the scale give me Fatal Attraction and Bridges of Madison County. And – the guilty pleasure – I don’t allow myself much TV – but I’ve always loved ballroom dancing and I watch all episodes of Dancing With The Stars + The Good Wife. Keep up the good work –

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Oooh, fun post, Kitt. Here’s my choices:

    Movie: Cataclysmic disaster/plague movies (the world is coming to an end!). Can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched The Andromeda Strain and Dante’s Peak.

    Music: My musical tastes are all over the place, so it really depends on mood. If I had to pick the genre I listen to the most, it’s probably easy listening.

    Books: I read so many different genres, it’s hard to zero in on one but I’d say thriller/mystery is probably my favorite.

    Guilty Pleasure: 70’s music! ‘nuff said on that one, huh?

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I wish you had been sitting next to me to help me with my last SongPop challenge, LOL! Just got my butt handed to me in the “Funk” category. I’m also really weak in Disco. But if it’s easy listening…love anything from Johnny Mathis to Ella Fitzgerald to Sarah McLachlan. Music is tough for me because I love anything with awesome lyrics. 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Mmmm! Christian Bale is a total hottie. Lately, though, my preoccupation is with Thor…totally drool worthy with those sexy baby blues. And he reminded me of why I had a thing for long hair in my youth. 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

