A Blogger’s Choose Your Own Adventure?

So a few weeks ago I’d brought up the thought of playing a story game much like one I’d done in high school.  Several of you expressed an interest in playing.  Through the comments it became clear that we’d need to come up with a way to do this successfully and to make it as people friendly as possible.  We didn’t want the chance that two writers may be simultaneously coming up with the next part of the story and one person might not get included or both would get posted and simply confuse the storyline.

So I’ve been chewing on this thought trying to figure out how we could do this story game without such craziness.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.  I’d kick it off by writing the first paragraph or two.  Next, what we could do is this…make it kind of like choose your own adventure.  Each participant could post the first sentence or two on my page then link back to their own blog to write their part of the story.  This way, readers would have a choice as to which path they want to go with the story!  From there, the same rules would apply.  Anyone from your blog group that would like to participate would just put in their first sentence or two and link back to their blog with their part of the story and so on and so forth.

Gosh, I hope that’s clear.  As I’m thinking it it makes sense…but I don’t know if it’s making sense to you, the readers/potential participants.  The cool part of being able to do it this way is that it can go in any direction you want to take it.  You want romance…it can go there.  You want racy…it can go there.  You want suspense…there’s room for that, too!  And our readers can join in the fun…and maybe find new and interesting blogs along the way!

So what do you guys think?  Could this work?  Does it make sense?  Do we need more rules?

15 thoughts on “A Blogger’s Choose Your Own Adventure?

  1. Jennifer says:

    What a fun idea! I LOVEd Choose Your own Adventure books as a kid. So this is right up my alley, as a reader. Maybe it will even inspire a few photos! 🙂

  2. maitchd says:

    Sounds great Kitt, I only wish that I understood it a little better since I’m new to this whole blogging thing. I guess I’d need a step by step explanation. I was also thinking about that everyone would submit the next line (or paragraph) and you could pick the best one out of the bunch and write who submitted it.

    But if you could let me know how your way works that would be best 🙂 When are you planning on starting it? I just realized I wasn’t subscribed to receive your new posts by email and was wondering why I wasn’t seeing any new posts! My bad. I’m following now. Keep me posted!

    Marie
    Good Morning, Joe

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      We’ll go by paragraph…and it will be more like a blog hop. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure to write out instructions. Each paragraph will be written on your own page, but you will link back to my blog and the story post in particular using your first sentence. 🙂 This way every person who wants to participate and the story can continue from their page with the instructions… 🙂

  3. maitchd says:

    Oh! And I told my boyfriend about it and he thought it was a great idea! He said it would be awesome to publish a book based on many writers coming together like this. What a thought, huh?

        • Kitt Crescendo says:

          Probably…LOL! And there’s nothing wrong with erotic. Frankly, I’m hoping at least one person takes that challenge on. Of a photo paragraph or whatever artistic way anyone wants to go with it. That’s the beauty of this…it can go in a zillion different directions depending on the creative minds who decide to play.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

