Pausing To Aid In Celebration

Hi Everyone!  I had this big ole blog planned for today, but it’s gonna have to wait.  My mom called and notified me that we will be having a party for my stepdad’s 60th birthday tomorrow at their new homestead.  She also notified me that I make dessert.  This is not an easy feat as my step-dad is a ciliac (has a gluten allergy).  She said he wanted German Chocolate cake, and I found this awesome looking recipe.  When I called, though, and talked to my stepdad, he said Carrot cake sounded good to him.  Unsure of which one was better, I’ll be making both.  Better safe than sorry.  That also means my big ole blog plan is out the window…

Recently, they rented out their home in Chicago to move closer to me.  I suspect she did it just in case hubby and I decide to grace her with grandkids, she wanted to be nearby.  Well, that and my step aunt & uncle live in the area.  So they bought 5 acres about an hour away from me.  It comes complete with a little lake (that gators come out of) and a barn.  Fortunately, the area around the house is fenced so that I can bring my dogs with us when we go to visit and they get to play in a big yard.

Here are some pictures I took from around their house the last time I was out there.  I love all the lily pads they have in their lake. Can’t wait till they bloom!

The barn

Mom loves trees and plants

 

25 thoughts on “Pausing To Aid In Celebration

  1. Seb says:

    Possibly the only thing that can compete with German Chocolate Cake is .Carrot Cake. Your stepdad seems to have a clear grip of priorities.

  2. lenwilliamscarver says:

    Well if this isn’t just the right desserts for my house hubs fav is GM choc mine Carrot so thank you I look forward to the delivery and I will have coffee on and icy cold milk too! Come on over and we shall indulge in your Susie Homemaker endeavors together. Have a wonderful time enjoy that beautiful homestead and especially the visit with your parents..time together making memories is precious!

  3. Loni says:

    Ooo I wouldn’t be able to choose between the two cakes, I’ll take a slice of each!
    The gators in the pond would freak me out a little. I don’t think I’d dare walk down that little pier. Beautiful property though. I’m sure cutting grass in the summer time sucks though lol

  4. CJ says:

    Ha Ha Ha…you’re a lot nicer than me! I usually bake one gluten free item (always pie) and one gluten-filled item for the rest of us! That way Kurt has his own pie and the rest of us get to share! I see a pup in one of those pics! 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

