Life Themes And Power Songs

A friend of mine texted me in a panic last week.  His college requires he take a creative writing class to graduate with his bachelors degree, so he’d enrolled for this semester. He’d already warned me that he might be coming to me for a little assistance, so I wasn’t in complete shock when he sent me:  “WTF does is a theme song of my life?”

I’ll admit it.  I chuckled first.  Then I called him.  Apparently, his professor’s instructions were to come back on Monday with a song to play for the class as the theme song of their life.  She’d stated she didn’t care about obscenities or content, but that they must have one.  Now this friend of mine is a “rock the boat” kind of guy.  He’s creative, but more the conniving sneaky kind of creative. When he was younger and less mature, he was the guy that his friends would call for revenge schemes.  Of course, whenever I think of revenge, I laugh…because I always end up thinking of Norm McDonald’s Dirty Work and his revenge for hire business.

Now my friend may be capable of being devious, but most of that was youthful indiscretion.  But when it comes to his creative mind, he’s a bit too literal minded for the directions she gave.  She’d have been better off asking him to create the perfect murder.  I’m sure he’d have been able to write that quickly.

I didn’t leave my explanation to the potential misunderstandings that can happen through text.  He’s not great at reading “tone”.  I called him.  It turned out that he wasn’t doing anything, so he swung by to take me to breakfast and talk about his project.

I explained to him that theme songs can mean different things to different people, but at the end of the day, it’s always something that is meaningful to the individual.  I know athletes who pick their theme song based on tone and energy and the ability of the song to motivate or drive them…especially when they get tired are are ready to quit.  I know other people who pick something that they associate with their family because it was a favorite they’ve heard their entire lives.  Still others pick songs that represent the different aspects they’re going through in that moment. The reality is, as life changes, your theme song usually does, too.

Now my friend…he’s a huge Pink! fan…so I half expected his theme song to be something like Raise Your Glass or if he was feeling particularly raunchy…U+Ur Hand. But, like people tend to do, he surprised me.  Instead he picked the following video.  I think it’s great!

Me? I’m sure it’s no shock to anyone…even before he called me about his assignment, I had my theme song down.  For me, it’s more about how I view life and the way I choose to attack it.  Mine is designed to inspire me and remind me of where my true power has always been.  Inside me.

So what about you? What do you think of my friend’s choice in songs? Or mine? When you think about your life…what theme song comes to mind? What makes your song meaningful to you? How does it relate to your life today?

20 thoughts on “Life Themes And Power Songs

  1. August McLaughlin says:

    Theme songs! Brings me back to Ally McBeal. 😉 I LOVE your choice, by the way. Today I’m choosing Donna Summers’ “She Works Hard for the Money” or “It’s Raining Men.” Hmmm… Not quite a toss up. LOL

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LOVED Ally McBeal. Every time I hear Barry White I think of John Cage doing his little dance, LOL! Gosh, wouldn’t that be a fun blog post…Life and how it relates to Ally McBeal. I still love the car wash scene with Jason Gedrick. As for the toss up… Hmmm. Men or Money? One is easier to get than the other, and one can get the other…but can you keep them both? LOL! Thanks, one more question to cram into my brain… 😉

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Yeah, I’ve been there, too..and during those times I thanked God that he hadn’t blessed me with children as I never wanted Harry Chapin’s Cats In The Cradle to be my song. Now I’m going to look up your songs. I bet they’re great!

  2. Katie says:

    My power song has become Juke Box Hero by Foreigner. I could listen to that song on repeat when I’m running. It just gives me extra motivation somehow

  3. Gloria Richard Author says:

    Hey, Kitt! Thanks for the follow and back atcha’. You may have inspired a topic for a post. Several have been noodling around in my noggin, but hadn’t yet come together. Stay tuned!

    Oh, I would so relate to your friend. Not because of his song choice. Rather b/c “creative sneakiness” are my two favorite words to string together. You described him as both creative and sneaky. A kindred spirit. Woot!

    The Theme Song for My Life at the Moment…? ERK! I listened to the two sound tracks from Country Strong on a six week driving vacation. Bits and bites of each song apply. As do a plethora of songs from my youth.

    Perhaps you could meet me for coffee and point me in the right direction? No? I’ll think about it as I work out this morning.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I’ll look forward to see what all your ‘noggin noodling’ creates. 🙂 As for my friend? I have no doubt that the two of you putting your heads together would result in serious trouble for the rest of the world. Hijinks would definitely follow.

      As for the coffee, if you were nearby, I’d say sure…but the likelihood is not very good, so I, too, will settle for working out. 🙂

      I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  4. Mae Clair says:

    OMG, a theme song? Really, Kitt? You always make me take an unexpected spin through the gray matter when it’s the least cooperative, LOL. I am drawing an utter and complete blank. Hopefully that isn’t my theme song!

  5. maitchd says:

    Wow! Good question. I don’t know if I’d be able to pick a song for myself because it really depends on how I’m feeling. If I’m feeling down I have a pick me up song, if I’m happy I have a list of songs to play that will make me feel even 10 times happier to keep the flow going! It’s crazy, but music is such a big part of my life that it would be like asking me what my favorite song is.

    Yikes! I’m stumped….one that I guess could be all around would be “Here and Now” by Del Amitri.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

