Confession Of A SongPOP Addict

I was 14 the first time I tasted alcohol. It was Seagram’s Wildberry wine coolers. That night, I hung out with my cousins, played board games and generally had a good time. No, I did not get drunk. In fact, it’s been over 20 years since that day, and I still haven’t gotten drunk. In fact, I’ve only gotten mildly buzzed 3 or 4 times. One could even go so far as to say I have control issues which prohibit me from taking that extra drink or two required to induce drunkenness.

If I had concerns about control loss with alcohol, I’m sure you’ve already figured out that I’ve never tried drugs. I’ve never judged my friends or family who have, I just wasn’t ever going to be that girl.

Cigarettes were a little bit different. I was 18 years old & cruising around town on a Friday night with one of my gal pals when she pulled into the station. As she stepped out of the car to pump gas, she asked me to hold her cigarette. As an adult with a few years behind me, I look back and think “how dangerous!”. But back then I remember studying her cigarette and thinking that they took forever to burn. Curious to see if I could finish one, I asked her if I could have one. By the end of the night I had smoked half a pack by myself. I became an occasional smoker after that…smoking socially. A couple years later, though, I noticed that getting up four flights of stairs had me huffing and puffing, so I quit. Cold turkey. I obviously wasn’t addicted or I would’ve had some sort of withdrawal. Never did.

As for video games? Not really my bag. I never got hooked on them. In fact, the action ones would stress me out! Hubby, on the other hand, loves video games. He could sit and play for hours.

I enjoy social networking. So, as inevitably happens, I was invited to play FarmVille, Cafe World, etc. and for a time, I’d enjoy them. Back when I was working a high pressure job, the pure mindlessness of the blind clicking of animals and plants to gather prizes and grow things was soothing…but eventually, that, too would bore me and I’d stop playing.

But one day, with a single invitation, everything changed. I’m still not sure who sent me the initial invitation, but I bless and curse them daily.

20121016-142114.jpg

When my iPad screen lights up with this logo, I wait with bated breath to see who has challenged me to a game of speed, memory and wits. I quiver with excitement wondering if I will be faster than my opponent this round and if the category my challenger chose is one that I am strong in. Will I be able to guess all five songs in a timely manner? Can I best my last score? And if no one has thrown down a gauntlet, I go back and nudge my opponents to ensure they play at their next available moment.

For those of you unfamiliar, I will explain. Do you remember the game “Name That Tune”? SongPOP is like that game, except that they have the music options in categories. For example, my biggest strengths lie in categories like Glee, love songs, 80’s music, Crooners and Musicals.
My weaknesses are in Rap (old school and new school) and Disco.

If you are smart, you focus on your strengths and learn your opponents weaknesses. When it’s your turn to select a category, pick strategically. And if they select a category you are weak in, follow their responses when you are unsure of what to select. While the music is playing, take in the words as well as the artist’s voice. These, too, can be clues to help you win.

Every morning, when I get up, this is one of the first things I check for. At night, before I sleep, this is one of the last things I do. And throughout the day….yeah, you’ve got it.

20121016-143457.jpg

So, drugs, alcohol and cigarettes couldn’t get me hooked, but one game and I’m a goner. Am I the only one? What are you hooked on?

20 thoughts on “Confession Of A SongPOP Addict

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I love coffee, too, but can go quite a while between cups if I need to. Hubby made me give it up for lent one year and I’m not even Catholic, LOL! I haven’t had soda in years…but books…yes, that would be another addiction. 🙂

  1. Cakes and Shakes... says:

    Yeah, I’m with you on the ‘unhookableness” R.E. traditional addictive substances, but Words with Friends is my downfall. Now I’m going to check song pop out though, I have an extensive and archaic knowledge of obscure lyrics that I think might suit me well 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    LOL, this post cracked me up! I’ve been hooked on games before, so I can totally relate. In fact, I fight the urge to play them on my iPad because I know where it could lead.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      🙂 I’ve played a couple games on my iPad. In fact, Family Fud and Jeopardy are both on here, but I have been known to forget about those for days on end, LOL! Kudos for not getting sucked in. 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

