Major Migraines And A Bit Of Good News

I was going to begin our “Choose Your Own Adventure” story today, but decided to postpone it so that I could do our project justice. (Yes, based on all the feedback and support you guys have given me, I’ve begun to think of it as OURS).

Not only is today my writer’s association meeting, I’ve also been battling a 2 plus day migraine. Today has been the first day I haven’t felt like falling to my knees and weeping like a baby, so I got a few things done around the house. In a little more than a week I’ll be leaving for my anual trek to Dallas to watch my Cowboys play…for those of you who follow the sport, I’ll be watching them play the Giants. (I’ll also get to meet Jay Novacek) Co Cowboys!

Immediately following our trip to Texas, my awesome sister and her husband will be coming to visit.  Since the parental units now live down here, we’ll be having an “early Thanksgiving” during their stay.  This means houseguests…both for when my girl friend comes to doggie sit my babies while I’m in Big D and again when my sis and bro come down.  Clean, clean, clean…that will be me for the next few days.  Never fear, though, it won’t interfere with my blogging. 🙂 I’ve come to really enjoy doing this and consider it my “me” time.

Onto my good news…one of the guys I sing with has written a song.  He has reached out and asked me to collaborate with him and come up with some lyrics. What an honor! He sent me the music this week…now it’s up to me to come up with the rest. Cross your fingers for me!

Anyway, my buddy Emma mentioned Harry Chapin the other day in one of her blogs…and it got me to thinking about his daughter…Mary Chapin-Carpenter. I want to share two songs with you guys from her repertoire.  One is the first song I ever heard her perform…and she knocked it out of the park (no wonder she’s so respected for her talent in the music industry). It is called “Opening Act”.  The second one is about how things can sometimes go wrong. With my headache, I’ve felt like “The Bug” this week, which, incidentally, is the name of the second song.

How has your day been?

24 thoughts on “Major Migraines And A Bit Of Good News

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Thanks, Sheri! I’m very excited as it gives me the opportunity to combine the two longest loves in my life. As for the migraine, it went away…only to morph into a sinus headache thanks to my allergies. Fortunately all I need to battle this one is allergy pills and Advil. 🙂

      Mary Chapin Carpenter rocks! Her storytelling ability is awesome. I fell in love with her style back in ’90 when she sang that opening act song. She had me in stitches. 🙂

  1. Emma says:

    Kitt, I used suffer from migraines as a kid and teenager so I know how excruciating the pain can be. Hope you feel better. Do you have a trigger for them, like dairy or stress?
    My Dad loves Mary’s song “When Halley Came to Jackson.” “Opening Act” made me smile.
    Enjoy the song writing.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I actually think the trigger may be my allergies. Usually I just get sinus headaches, but not this time. 😦 glad you liked “Opening Act”. It’s one of my faves. I’ll have to check out your day’s favorite as I don’t think I’ve heard it before!

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Fortunately *knocking on cyber wood* I’ve never had a migraine. Tension and sinus headahces are the worse I get and they’re bad enough. I can’t imagine dealing with migraines. I have a few friends who suffere from them and know how debilitating they can be.

    Congrats about the song lyrics. That’s totally awesome. And, you know, I would LOVE to hear you sing some day. You need to post a You Tube vid!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Oy vey! Actually, I may do that…someday. (I have a diva side) Not nearly as shy around a microphone as I am reading excerpts from my book or my poetry aloud at my writers group. BTW, they’ve asked me to put together a “how to” class on blogging for beginners.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Love Down At The Twist And Shout…thought I think I like I Feel Lucky more…LOL…something about Dwight Yoakham and Lyle Lovitt on either side and winning the lottery cracks me up.
      Thanks for the flash back from Lucinda Williams, by the way. Haven’t listened to her in years!

      • thedreamingsub says:

        I like “I Feel Lucky” and “Passionate Kisses”. But “Down at the Twist and Shout” has been a personal fav since I was in high school. I sang it to my son this morning. Thank you for bringing me down memory lane.

        Dwight Yoakham and Lyle Lovitt or both what I call “ugly hot”. Ain’t nothing wrong with it either. 😉

        I love Lucinda Williams an EmmyLou Harris. Nice to meet you, btw. I am Missy aka thedreamingsub

  3. L.J. Kentowski says:

    How exciting Kitt! Have fun with the song! Can’t wait to hear it. You are going to post it right?

    So sorry to hear you’ve been getting those dang migraines. I used to get them in my early 20s. They are horrible little head demons! Glad to hear you’re getting better.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Not really. I can find middle C on a piano, but was too impatient to do anything but play the most basic tunes. Also took clarinet lessons in grade school but didn’t stick to it. 🙂 My instrument of choice was and always will be…for me…voice. But a man who can play piano and sing is sexy as hell… Hello Phil Vassar!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

