I’m A Sick Girl…No, Seriously!

Well, it’s official. I’m sick. Something came on like gangbusters on Wednesday night that had me on my bon bon by Thursday morning. My writing buddy called to see how my WIP was coming along and her first words were…”You sound like hell!” I don’t have time for this. I really don’t. I need to finish my WIP immediately, our family and friends are coming over on Sunday to do an early Thanksgiving/birthday party for my mom. And I leave for El Paso on Tuesday or Wednesday. Do you know what it’s like to get on a plane when your sinuses/ears are acting up?

I went to the doctor today. The official diagnosis is…sinus infection to go with a viral infection. So now I’m on meds. Fingers crossed that they work quickly.

Sitting here all sick got me thinking. When I’m sick I like “comfort” everything. Comfort food, comfortable clothes, comfort everything. For me, comfort food is mac and cheese…maybe some chicken noodle soup….some grilled cheese. It’s also the only time I trade my coffee in for tea. Hot tea. With honey for sweetener.

First thing I usually do when I’m sick is a hot shower. I want to fool my body into thinking it feels better than it actually does. Then i like to dress warmly…encouraging my body to sweat out any toxins in a comfy old sweatshirt and cotton pj bottoms or sweats. On my feet, I like to wear warm, fuzzy socks.

I like to curl up into a ball in bed under the comforter and maybe watch reruns of some of my favorite shows. Most of the time I hope to catch old Ally McBeal episodes…  I loved that show.  Loved the humor, loved the music, loved the unisex bathroom….

Or if I’m in the mood for music, I like curling up with comfy music, too…Like Kenny Loggins with Amy Grant and Return To Pooh Corner.

Or when I really don’t have any energy…I’ll just read my favorite books…The ones that are worn and dog eared…like The Outsiders and The Witch Of Blackbird Pond.

What about you guys? What are your favorite comfort foods? What do you do when you’re not feeling well? Do you have any rituals? Cross your fingers that these meds kick in quickly. I’m supposed to be seeing Breaking Dawn Part 2 tonight.  :-/

33 thoughts on “I’m A Sick Girl…No, Seriously!

  1. L.J. Kentowski says:

    Awwww…hope you get better real quick! I’m definitely a chicken noodle soup & grilled cheese kind of sicky. Also watching hours of Law & Order never fails to keep me from trying to get up off the couch or bed 🙂

  2. lenwilliamscarver says:

    Hope you get to feeling better quickly. Here are a couple of things to help…place vicks on bottoms of feet insert feet into socks sleep that way, it will help pull out from body #2) 1 clove garlic peeled and crushed 1 tblspoon honey place garlic in tablespoon of honey quickly swallow i down do not chew!! Drink enough water to get it out of you and you shoul do this at least a few times Who knows it may help!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I’ve actually done the Vicks trick. It helps. I’m also pounding water, juice and hot tea with honey. Being on antibiotics helps, too. I’ve never tried the garlic/honey trick, but I don’t know if I’d be able to do that one. 🙂

      • lenwilliamscarver says:

        The garlic honey mixture in the TBLS is why you have the water once you put that spoon in your mouth you swallow quickly then drink just enough warm water to dissolve the residue of honey in your mouth and make sure you don’t chew you swallow quickly so you don’t taste the garlic. It is the strongest antibiotic known to man and the science filed says it is natures antibiotic. Worked for me during the cold season this year I got pnemonia just to lay in bed and have someone wait on me LOL

  3. Don't Quote Lily says:

    Aw, feel better! I wouldn’t recommend going to a crowded theater when you’re feeling that way. Well, personally, I’d never go the day a movie comes out because AHHH, crowds, lol. But yeah, get rest and hopefully you’ll feel better before you know it. 😀

  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says:

    Hope you are up and about soon. I totally agree with the grilled cheese plus the mac and cheese. I also like to add in a cold smoothie for my throat. While I’ve been recovering, I’ve been hanging out in the recliner with my dog, an afghan my Mom made years ago and a pile of magazines I hadn’t found time to read. My concentration is shot for books right now–good thing I had book reviews ready for reserve.

  5. terrileeclarke says:

    First, so funny/weird, I woke sick Thursday too, but it was killer stomach virus so no comfort foods at all. When I felt better, as always after a stomach flu, I go for Ramen noodles, chicken flavor, and I stir in an egg. It sets well and adds some protein. I totally sympathize with the sinus thing, having horrible sinuses for years; I’m glad you got meds because I’ve never found the infection will go away by itself.
    Speaking of Panera (above) have you had their mac’n cheese? There’s some COMFORT right there!
    Have a great weekend/holiday/trip!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      My mom used to do the ramen noodle & egg trick for me as a girl. The first time I did it for hubby he looked at me like I was nuts. Now he asks for “egg drop soup”. My mom also, when my stomach was shaky, would make cream of wheat and flavor it with cream of mushroom soup. Tasted awesome!

      • terrileeclarke says:

        I never tried that – but we used to eat Cream of Wheat all the time, haven’t thought of it for years!

        Hubs won’t touch Ramen. And the kids won’t touch it with an egg in it, but I think it’s perfect after a virus! Never knew anyone else that would eat it like that 😉

  6. Emma says:

    Feel better, Kitt. Shower & warm clothes are good. Take a Duvet Da:. Warm PJs, hot tea, drag your bed duvet from the bedroom to the couch and watch all your favourite DVDs.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

