Happy birthday, Mom!

Several years ago, I was so caught up in my very high pressure retail career that I forgot my mother’s birthday for the first time in my life. My mom was so concerned that she called me and asked me the one question most parents jump to when their children behave in manners they are unable to explain….

“Are you on drugs?”

…That day I gained a valuable insight into parenting. It doesn’t matter how old you are (I was in my early 30’s). Parents will always worry because you will always be their “child”.

Today I no longer have that kind of grinding career. I was able to enjoy the simple moments… Invite my parents and some friends over and honor my mom on her birthday as well as enjoy an early Thanksgiving before I fly out on Tuesday.

Hubby made some awesome cranberry dishes (one with pears and lemon juice and zest and the other a more autumnal one with blueberries). I made my green bean casserole & cheddar cheese mashed potatoes to go with the awesome turkey, gruyere cheddar biscuits, quinoa cranberry nut stuffing, pancit, Mac and cheese and apple pear salad with cranberry vinaigrette dressing.

Dessert was pumpkin pies and chocolate pecan pies with the options for ice cream or cool whip. Hubby also made this awesome drink called Asian pear grapefruit fizz…you couldn’t even taste the vodka! Dogs and children chased each other around my tables while adults conversed.

I finally got to use my formal china I received from my wedding. What do you like about the holidays? What insights have you derived from your parents?

Happy Birthday, Mom!

24 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Mom!

  1. sydneyaaliyah says:

    Hey Kitt, I recently forgot my dad’s birthday. Called him two days later and he proceeded to lay the guilt on pretty thick. But, now I am starting to think he like that his kids aren’t so reliable sometimes in order for him to have little rants. His best line was, “Well, I have had to put up with it for 72 years, I guess one more year won’t kill me.” HAHA.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Gotta love parents. 🙂 My mom’s drug line cracked me up because her birthday is so close to Thanksgiving and I was in retail…running 5 stores. Only one thing I was doing. Getting ready for Black Friday, LOL! (And I’ve never touched drugs…just never was curious enough. Well, actually, I’m just too into control to ever be willing to give it up that way.)

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Very true. I think the good ones feel like we’re their gift to the world, so they want to make sure the world doesn’t break us… I’m lucky to have my mom. (My dad is an entirely different story.)

  2. viveka says:

    My mum always forgets my birthday – neither has she remembered it one day too early … or one months too late. I wish your mum, happy birthday .. and I wish her a good tomorrow too – and all the days that follows.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Thanks! Sorry your mum always forgets your birthday. The only time my mum forgot mine was when one if my brothers died so close to it that she was making funeral plans, etc. even at age 10, I understood…

      • viveka says:

        She has a brain cry’stal clear – 90 years old, but she can never get my birthday right – was upset as a kid, but I don’t really care since I became an adult.
        Said to read about your brother. He couldn’t been that old.

  3. Katie says:

    I personally love the holidays simply for having a more legitimate excuse to bake! I don’t really eat much of what I bake anymore, but I love pawning it off on other people and reveling in the compliments my cakes/cookies get me. (Those are literal cakes and cookies, by the way!)

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LOL! Yeah…that is an awesome side benefit to being a scratch baker. 🙂 I love doing cakes, cookies and bread. Hubby loves to do pies and cheese cake, too…and after hid recent foray into playing with yeast, I think he loves rolls, too. Hr enjoyed the POP of pounding the rolls once the yeast activated. 🙂

  4. Jane Sadek says:

    I don’t love the holidays as much as I used to. The whole retail mania is a turn off to me and our family is shrinking. Traditions that once had meaning are now just the same old thing without a generation of kids to pass them on to. I’d love to go feed the homeless, build a Habitat for Humanity house, go on a cruise or plan a different kind of event, but my mom won’t let go of the past and out of respect, I keep producing the same old thing. About the only thing I really enjoy is putting up the tree. My husband wonders why I go through the two day chore of decorating the house, but that’s one tradition I want to hold onto.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Aww! I’m sorry. I think feeding the homeless could be both uplifting and rewarding. I’ve done the Habitat houses, though not for a holiday. Loved that. Much of our family these days is comprised of dear friends as we live thousands of miles from most of our family. We have always loved the holidays, though… And doing the tree is always a special moment for me. It never quite feels like Christmas until then. And it gives me an excuse to play my Christmas music. 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Yeah, me, too. It’s one of the many reasons I’m glad to no longer be in retail. And the fact that stores are starting to open at 8 & 9 pm on Thanksgiving…rediculous. And shameless. Nothing like greed to kill family time.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

