The Music Of Love

Maybe it’s being away from my hubby longer than I’ve been from him in nearly 19 years, but I’m feeling a touch romantic today. Of course, it could also be that love songs have some of the best lyrics…or that I’ve been sending a friend a bunch of tunes, but regardless, it got me thinking.

Remember Mix Tapes? It used to be the ultimate romantic gesture when I was a young teen. The songs hand selected your specific sweetheart in mind…songs that would tell that person how much you cared… Do kids even do stuff like that anymore? Watching the youth of today I’m beginning to wonder if romance is lost on them. Or maybe it’s the simple romantic gestures…that don’t cost anything but thought and time. So here’s the deal. I only have my iPad, so it’s making my usual way of posting impossible, but I’m going to try.

I was thinking. What songs have been dedicated to you? Or maybe sung to you. What songs have you dedicated to the loves…or maybe crushes…of your past? Everyone has one…just ask Taylor Swift! 😉

My first “real” boyfriend, Jay, lip sync’ed this song to me…Always but the relationship ended. He lied. He cheated. Suddenly, this beautiful song became something I couldn’t stand. Oddly enough, all these years later and I still don’t like it.

Then there was Brad. He was my blond haired, blue eyed Adonis. He towered over me at 6′ and made me feel delicate and beautiful standing beside him. The washboard abs were icing on the cake. Brad was all about the romantic gestures. He was my mixture tape guy, but he was also the boy who draped me over him while laying on the couch kissing…and sang I Remember You against my lips, all the while gazing into my eyes. It was sweetly romantic. And Send Me An Angel was one of the songs he put on my tape. Of course the down side is that when we broke up…it was not amicable. Hate Everything About You became our theme song, LOL! And yes, we found a way to sing that one to each other, too…LOL!

Hubby and my first romantic dance was in a parking garage. We had just pulled in when Wonderful, Tonight came on the radio. He stepped out of the car, got my door, then pulled me into his arms, a spontaneous, romantic gesture. Of course our first dance at our wedding will also always have a soft spot. My Destiny will, for me, always tell the story of hubby and me.

Now it’s your turn. Share your lovey dovey songs. Or your I hate you songs… Don’t be shy! Everyone is welcome. Music soothes the heart!

6 thoughts on “The Music Of Love

  1. vimal says:

    🙂
    ex 2 – what a child is meant to be – kathryn scott
    ex 3 – i promise – jaci velasquez
    ex 4 – lazarus – porcupine tree
    ex 5 – Perfect two – Auburn

  2. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says:

    Okay, Kitt – I’m going to show my age here. My hubby is 150% romantic and the list goes something like this: Strangers In The Night, Can’t Help Falling In Love, I Can Wait Forever, That Sunday That Summer, and an all important – I Just Called To Say I Loved You. I mixed both a CD and a playlist for him just this past Christmas and plan to do the same again this year with additional songs.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

