How About Tennessee For Christmas?

I remember being a young girl and hearing this song… Something about it resonated with me…and made me want to move to Tennessee…LOL! I never actually moved there, but I discovered later that I have a love for Nashville if for no other reason than I love country music and their ballads. There’s also something about how she and Vince harmonize that I really enjoy. Who knows…I’m still reasonably young…I could find my way there.

The funny thing is, there’s controversy about this video because she wrote this song back in her youth with her ex-husband, Gary Chapman. Here, she’s singing it with a good friend…who she later marries. Regardless of the circumstances, it’s a beautiful song. She sang it well with both men…and does an amazing job singing it alone. But she married young. It didn’t work out. Speculation is that she overshadowed him with her fame…and that led to him making some catastrophic life choices. Maybe…maybe not. Fame is a difficult thing, I think. At the end of the day…I choose to chalk it up to youth….and just enjoy the song.

Amy Grant’s Christmas albums have always been my all time favorites…they just feel so heartfelt. After you hear it…I’m sure you’ll get why I thought Tennessee had to be awesome. I know it’s not the only song out there written about a specific state or country…Do you have a song that resonated so much you wanted to live there when you heard it? What was the song and where did it make you want to go?

8 thoughts on “How About Tennessee For Christmas?

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

