Bad Gone Good

Have you ever had one of those Days/Weeks/Months/Years where if you put everything that happened on paper it would look like the worst year ever? As is common this close to the beginning of the New Year, I began to reflect. I’ve had two years that were truly bad…I lost a sibling in each of those years. Oddly enough, this year…on paper…should probably have been a runner up.

Here’s how this year has looked for me:

  • Short staffed & forced to work 6 day work weeks and at least 2-3 double shifts per week for 3 months
  • Husband diagnosed with appendicitis and rushed by ambulance for an emergency appendectomy (appendix was necrotic)
  • Less than month later husband has second surgery for inguinal hernia repair
  • 6 weeks later hubby has the worst surgery (both for him and me)…a pilonidal cyst surgery
  • Through all this I had an employee constantly making trouble, making excuses for her behavior and calling HR on every perceived slight (mostly imaginary).
  • On the 4th of July, I got fired for the first time in my life.
  • 2 days before my health benefits run out, hubby breaks his hand playing softball
  • Hubby’s favorite uncle becomes very ill very quickly. (They were talking hospice before they even gave the true diagnosis)
  • Hubby goes to Chicago to visit family for a few days (I had tried to get the time approved when I was working, but had been denied and a week before I lost my job he booked the plane ticket…Joke was on us…)
  • Hubby’s uncle dies a week and a half after hubby came back home.
  • A close friend was diagnosed with cancer.
  • My brother-in-law lost his grandmother.
  • Another family member was diagnosed with cancer
  • Yet another family member lost a toe due to some medical things.

Oddly enough, even through all of this, I feel thankful! I was worried sick about hubby with all his surgeries…but I was grateful that they all happened when I still had insurance. Even his broken hand happened within that timeframe. In fact, two of the three surgeries happened when my mom was in town. She dropped everything to rush to the hospital and be by our sides, keeping me company while I waited.

I lost my job…that should’ve sucked. Oddly enough, I wasn’t upset. I have a very solid skill set in a couple of career fields. Even more than that…everyone on my staff with the exception of my troublemaker called me or gave me a hug on my way out the door. They still keep in touch and let me know how much they enjoyed working with me and that they miss me.

The other thing about losing my job…my sister pointed out…my work/life balance sucked while I was there. On my wedding day (which was out of state) I got a call needing help. During the time my assistants were out, little to no help was given unless I pushed for it… I’m sure you’re getting by now that the little I’ve shared is just the tip of the iceberg with how much my life and time was monopolized.

Working there was also a big part of what caused me to stop writing…to rarely be able to attend church…to be unable to sing except around work and at home. Upon losing my job both my sister and my best friend called to tell me that they always felt I should’ve been writing anyway. They were right!

So, this year I’ve also become a member of the Florida Writer’s Association getting my feet back into the writing universe…and becoming active in my local chapter. I also just finished writing my first manuscript and am currently working on editing it…Cross your fingers! I also joined WordPress and found all you wonderful people! You guys have encouraged me, taught me, inspired me and enriched my life.

As for my singing…the day after I lost my job, my pastor called just to check on me. When I told him what had happened, he was empathetic…keeping me in his prayers. But he challenged me, too. He let me know that choir practice was the following day and that now that I had no plans I would probably enjoy checking it out. He pointed out that nothing makes the heart feel lighter than “making a joyful noise.” He was right! Since that day I have been a part of the praise team for the church, singing every Sunday. I think God was sending me a message through him. 🙂

Hubby’s uncle becoming ill…that really sucked. It was sad…and tragic. But the upside is that my husband got to go there…and spend time with him every day of his vacation, giving him a chance to say goodbye. That may not have been quite so readily possible if I’d been with him. They may have felt obligated to entertain me. The unfortunate thing was that he wasn’t able to go to the funeral when he died…but his uncle knew he loved him and that he was there to say goodbye.

As for the rest…it’s in God’s hands. My friend is battling, and I couldn’t be more proud. My family has a firm foundation in love, support and faith. So although on the surface, this year should probably look like it was awful…It wasn’t! I’ve found some very wonderful things to celebrate to go with some of those losses!

The thing I’ve learned? You can’t always control the things that happen to you, but you can control your response…and you can look for the blessings or you can focus on the bad. I choose to see the good and be thankful.

29 thoughts on “Bad Gone Good

  1. datinginvegas says:

    You are so right about controlling how you respond to bad situations. That’s the only control we really have 🙂 Good for you! I personally can’t wait for this year to be over. I feel like 2013 is going to be fantastic! I hope it is for you too. Happy New Year!!!

  2. Loni says:

    Wow Kitt, I had no idea you’ve gone through so much. But I’m happy to see you are able to see the positive out of it. I wish you and your family well for 2013!! It’s gonna be a great year!!

  3. ramblingsfromamum says:

    As they say when you fall of your horse get right back on… life throws us many painful moments.. many events that can change the way see the world… I wish you and yours a beautiful 2013 Kitt, you seem a caring, gentle soul take pride in that and I hope that 2013 is a new beginning. I loved Josh’s song. *hugs* x

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Thank you! You are so sweet. May you and yours have a happy, healthy 2013, too. Josh’s song was wonderful, I agree. Of course David Foster wrote it, so how could it be anything else? 🙂

  4. Emma says:

    I was really surprised reading that list. You’re such an upbeat person; I never suspected the year you’ve had. I admire your positivity, Kitt. “Control your response” – that’s a good point.
    Happy New Year. I look forward to reading more from you in 2013.

  5. Katie says:

    It looks like you’ve had enough excitement for a while! I’m sure 2013 will bring you lots of good things, even if they all don’t seem good at first. 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LOL! Peace and quiet seem like an exciting prospect to me these days. 😉 Happy New Year, Katie! Congrats again on getting the job you wanted. Hope your year is full of the good kind of excitement!

  6. L.J. Kentowski says:

    Don’t forget to add that this year you inspired so many others. Really, your view of looking to the bright side of things is inspirational Kitt and I’m so glad we became friends. I look forward to seeing you do even bigger and better things this year. I know you will!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Aww! Thanks. I figure it’s a choice. I can look for the silver linings or I can be miserable. I don’t like miserable…LOL! But really, I’ve found that there are so many things to be thankful for if we look hard enough…but we, as a people, tend to only see the obvious unless we teach ourselves to look harder…

  7. Shannygirl says:

    Everything happens for a reason.. I love that your seeing the positive side.. that is something I am trying to learn how to do. I wish you joy and happiness in the new year

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

