Smoke And Mirrors

Courtesy of Deandrawilliams.blogspot.com

Courtesy of Deandrawilliams.blogspot.com

When I close my eyes and dream,
Indulge my fantasy…
I look across a smoke filled room
And find your gaze on me.

The sensual moan of saxophone,
Ignites a fire within.
Your fingers kiss the ivory
Like magic on my skin.

The malted whiskey in your voice
Croons out a siren’s call
Bathes my soul in passion
Heart stutters, trips…
The fall.

You weave your spell of sweet intent
Seduction on your lips,
Words that pull me to your arms
And gently sway my hips.

Upon a hardened bed of wood
You slowly lay me down,
Remove all my defenses
Just like my evening gown.

With gentle ache of bittersweet
My mirage fades away,
Leaving me alone, again
To dream another day.

29 thoughts on “Smoke And Mirrors

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      It wasn’t…but I found the music choice suited the writing. It was actually inspired by the weather last night and this morning. The fog last night was so deep that horror stories could have been written (and a scene came into my head…and is working it’s way into my iPad.) The fog had somewhat lifted by the time I went to walk my dogs this morning, but it brought to mind the fantasy of that dark, seductive man walking out of the fog of my fantasies…you know what I mean? So the poem wrote itself into this dreamy fantasy sequence…. 🙂

  1. marrymeknot says:

    Wow, I wish I could write poetry like that. It paints such a clear picture, really beautiful. I like this part the best:
    The sensual moan of saxophone,
    Ignites a fire within.
    Your fingers kiss the ivory
    Like magic on my skin.

  2. pjb1943 says:

    Dropping in from Suzie’s party. Very nice site. For a minute, while reading this poem, I thought we were headed for a XXX rating but the ending was a great surprise. Beautifully written.
    Paul

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Well, thank you! I won’t pull your leg and tell you I haven’t gone there…but this poem was screaming for something different. Where the muse leads, I follow. 🙂 Enjoyed your stuff, too, by the way…

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

