Sexy Men Of HGTV

I watch HGTV a lot.  The channel is great for ambient noise when I’m writing… and a great distraction when I’m on the treadmill, running.

In the past, when I’d write I’d put music on. The problem was that I’d get distracted singing along or enjoying the way the different instruments bonded together to create an amazing blend of tones that sounded like magic to my ears. Nothing got written down. Then I turned to TV. I’d turn on a show I liked…but get so caught up in the show I’d forget that I was supposed to be writing.

Next I turned to complete silence. This works…most of the time, it’s actually my preference. I have learned, though, that there is such a thing as too much silence. As I discussed that issue with my writing mentor she recommended I find a channel that had something on that I wouldn’t be upset to miss, but that if I needed to step away from my work…I’d enjoy what I see.

Thus began my mad girl crush on a few guys on three awesome shows!  So…without any further ado, I introduce you to my top 3 HGTV crushes…

In 3rd places are twins from Property Brothers…I’m sure you can imagine all the fantasies that can work with twins. (And with one being a contractor…great hands!)

Then there’s Scott from Income Property… He has a sense of humor, he’s great with his hands…and his dimple keeps winking at me.

And then there’s my all time favorite, Jamie Durie from The Outdoor Room…he used to be a stripper, but now he creates the most amazing outdoor rooms. With his accent, his smile and his talent…how could I resist?

When you’re working on your art, what do you do to get focused? Do you require ambient noise? Do you have a favorite HGTV show?

(Guys, I know Sabrina Soto is hot…and my hubby thinks Mike Holmes from Holmes on Homes is pretty badass, so I know you can contribute to this convo.)

 

35 thoughts on “Sexy Men Of HGTV

  1. Seb says:

    I’m a silence guy, myself. I could, however betorn away to gaze on thr loveliness that is the younger Kari Byron should a rerun of mythbusters be playing on discovery channel

  2. Ray Colon says:

    Hi Kitt,

    I don’t watch HGTV too often. Back when I did watch house related shows, I was more of a This Old House type of guy. It’s a good thing that the guys on that show were around before hunkiness mattered. 🙂

    I’ve tried music, podcasts, and TV for ambient noise when I’m writing, but they were all too distracting. Silence seems to work best for me. Wait, make that silence and rum.

  3. Jessi Gage says:

    I’m hooked on Duck Dynasty. I’ve started fantasizing about rednecks, and suddenly, all my characters have beards. Oh, wait, maybe that’s because I’ve been reading Kristen Ashley.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Jessi, I keep hearing so much about Duck Dynasty that I may have to check it out! As for beards…those can be very interesting. It sounds like I may need to check out Kristen Ashley’s book. 🙂

  4. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Jamie YES one of our made the list 🙂 Woot Woot.. though he’s stacked it on a bit of late 😦 I have music playing – if I’m in the mood to write melancholy like – it’s sombre music, if I’m happy it’s Get this Part started – type music (yes I love Pink). Long may you continue Kitt ..whatever gets ‘ya goin’ 🙂 xx

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      So often I wish I could write to music, especially since I love it so… Unfortunately, for me, it’s great to put me in a mood before I write, but a complete distraction once I start.

      As for Jamie…he’s only listed last because he’s my #1. I started with the runners up, kind of like in Miss Universe. 🙂

  5. Ella Jade says:

    I’ve recently become addicted to HGTV too. I can’t get enough of the Property Brothers. I’ll watch the same episodes over and over again to get my Drew and Jonathan fix 😉

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      They’re awesome, aren’t they? They work so well as a team…it kind of makes you wonder if it’s ever spilled over into other “aspects” of their lives. 😉 Kind of reminds me of Sophie Oak’s first story in Bliss…Yum!

  6. wordsurfer says:

    The twins are … *sigh* The second guy is a bit too pretty for me and the third I can’t watch because youtube is being a jerk and telling me I live in the wrong country. Hmpf.
    Music works for me, if it’s very, very quiet. Just a shade too loud and I get distracted. Sometimes the radio works, when I have no control over what I’m going to hear next. Mostly, it’s silent when I write.

  7. filbio says:

    Hmmm…….no wonder this is my girl’s favorite channel. She is always watching it. Maybe I should cancel our cable sunscription.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LOL! They’re not on 24/7, so I think you’re good. I like the things it teaches me about how to stage my home if I plan on selling it someday, good tips on how to improve my home without spending an arm and a leg, learning what I really love in a home if I decide to buy one at a later date…and knowing the changes and improvements I can actually make. So it’s not always all about the hot guys… well, not ALWAYS!!! 😉

  8. i mayfly says:

    I am such a HGTV tramp. It’s not just their physical appearance; it’s their skills that get my ticker a racing. Jimmy (with Genevieve) – cute, with skills galore and that darling little English bulldog he brings to the site! Oh, the Kitchen Cousins! Hot, hot and HOT! Don’t get me wrong. I find the Property Brothers and Income Scott fine fare as well. Who said slut? -Nikki

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I think Genevieve is beautiful and talented, too. She would be my HGTV girl crush. Sarah from Sarah’s Room is pretty cool, too. Her assistant cracks me up. Jimmy IS cute… As for the Kitchen Cousins, I haven’t had a chance to check them out yet. Do you watch Love It Or List It, too? Hillary comes up with some cool designs. Still, no one is quite as hot to me as Jamie Durie…and his accent is the icing on my cake. 😉

      • i mayfly says:

        Sarah Richardson is my all time fav. Candice Olsen was for a while, but Sarah gives the financials, rehabs furn as well as interiors, uses the most unexpected colors, clean, functional design. BUT, our area doesn’t carrying her except sporadically. I have to catch her episodes online. Tommy is a woot! (our area dropped Jamie???)
        Oh and we are swamped with Love It or List It. I love what Hilary does, but the drama seems unnessecary. I usually only tune in the last 7-8 minutes. Yeah, I’m addicted. One of these days I’ll finish a project and post about it…when pigs fly, maybe?

  9. amadiex says:

    I have to say I do favor the twins the most…..there is something about them….I like it when they get down and dirty….I would buy a fixer up and be there EVERY day for a chance to hold their “hammer” LOL!!

  10. leafstrewngirl says:

    You never see him anymore, but John Giddings! Gorgeous. “Curb Appeal” used to be the show, I think. I think he was a Turkish model before he came to HGTV. Second place would be The Kitchen Cousins. They are adorable, AND buff. I really like Scott McGillivray too – handsome, built, sweet, down to earth, and funny. Please.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I know exactly who John Giddings is. My mom loved that show. He definitely had the hot factor going on, too, though I wasn’t as big on his show. I can also see the Kitchen cousins appeal (especially since I married Italian). 😉 Glad we agree on Scott. Such a sweetheart!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

