Maiden Voyage

20130127-191822.jpg

Listening to
Graceful crash
Of lightly, rippling
Waves.
Glass shatters
Across the hull,
Rivulets
Of bubbling gold
Gliding down.
Step ‘board
My wooden chariot,
Opaque sheets
Spread upward,
Angled high
Against the beautiful
Backdrop;
Cerulean sky.
Enjoy
The peaceful lull;
Curving to and fro.
I plan
A quest to find “me”…
Parchment guides
Etched by explorers
Past.
Rolled out,
Determined,
To plot my course.
Gazing blindly,
I try,
Pencil to paper,
To render my path.
Eyes unseeing,
I turn away,
Look out into
The unending
Deep blue,
And realize
I was never
Missing.

Friday, I went to Selby Botanical Gardens with my mom and a good friend in need of a distraction. Placed along the Gulf of Mexico, I found myself looking out at the water and daydreaming. The above picture is one of many I took that day. Here are a couple more.

20130127-192750.jpg

Here is one of a bonsai tree…I imagined fairies frolicking beneath those beautifully sculpted branches.

20130127-193641.jpg

Here is an image of only one of the exotic beauties we saw that day.

20130127-193030.jpg

My friend playing bird whisperer…a great way to distract him from his troubles. And finally, below is the souvenir dwarf pineapple plant I took home. Isn’t it gorgeous? Where do you find your peace & beauty?

20130127-193413.jpg

18 thoughts on “Maiden Voyage

  1. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Gazing blindly,
    I try,
    Pencil to paper,
    To render my path.
    Eyes unseeing,
    I turn away,
    Look out into
    The unending
    Deep blue,
    And realize
    I was never
    Missing.

    Loved this Kitt – truly. I had a few days away which when I finish catching up on over 100 emails (gawd it’s hard work at times) I shall post… the Bonsai I had one once… and sadly it died..maybe I should have had fairies living under it to sprinkle fairy dust and also give me a green thumb xxxx

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Lovely poetry as always, and wonderful pics. I especially liked the sailboats…so serene and tranquil. Any seaside setting is my favorite place to unwind. BTW, your pineapple plant is adorable!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

