Writing And Music And Where They Merge

I connect very strongly to music. I’m not telling most of you anything you didn’t already know. When I feel sad or lost or hurt or alone…music is my company and my anchor. When I’m happy or excited or energized…music helps me express myself. Regardless, the thing that centers me is music.

I’ve had friends ask me why, if I love music so much, did I choose to follow my bliss to writing? It’s a fair question. The thing that I love about my music are the fact that the smallest phrase can evoke a song into my head…and follow it’s path through my mouth. I love the spontaneity I can enjoy with music. If I decided to follow this as my discipline…I’d have to truly work at it. Practice. Repeat songs. For me, that would create a loss of joy….and probably, in the end, I’d come to resent that which I love so much today.

Writing, on the other hand, playing with words…tossing them to and fro to create just the right phrase, the right image…well, heck! I can do that all day. I love that aspect. It doesn’t get old or boring or tired. In fact, you’ll catch that it’s the lyrics of a song that truly draws me in. Yes, I can appreciate music that doesn’t have words…but my passion and imagination soars with lyrics.

I think that’s part of what makes certain movies so memorable to me, too! Their soundtracks…where long after the movie is done, you’ll hear a song on the radio and remember that moment, that scene, that image…and smile. I’m a sucker for movie soundtracks! Why? Because I get a variety of songs from a variety of talented musicians…sometimes artists I’d never otherwise discover!

So, today, I’m going to share with you my Top 5 favorite movie soundtracks…showcasing my favorite songs from each one…

But before that, I just wanted to thank you all for your encouraging words regarding my family…and the songs you shared…Please continue them. My father-in-law’s oncology appointment and scan are today. His doctor is pretty sure the cancer is back. That’s the thing about Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma…it will always come back. But he’s a 2 time survivor already, so I’m refusing to have anything but good thoughts. For me, that equates to music and laughter, so I’m going to share with you a little known Joey Lawrence song from an old movie he did called Prince For A Day. People forget that the guy could sing. For whatever reason, I saw that movie once when I was much younger, but the lyrics always stayed with me. You’ll see why.  The song is called “Don’t Lose Heart”.

And to feed my need for humor right now I figured I’d stick to Blossom alumni and give you guys one of my favorite Big Bang Theory experiments by Mayim Bialik.

Now, on to my top 5 movie Soundtracks in no particular order…

I can’t talk about soundtracks without mentioning The Sound Of Music. Who can resist the beauty of a voice like Julie Andrews? She is one of my all time favorite musicians…and always will be. (Christopher Plummer wasn’t exactly a slouch, either.) I nearly chose “How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria”, but I have an even bigger, more romantic favorite… The discovery of a requited love…

The next song is from one of my all time favorite Christian Slater movies…Pump Up The Volume. I was torn between this Concrete Blonde song and Ivan Neville’s “Why Can’t I Fall In Love”.

I also loved 10 Things I Hate About You…so many great songs on this one…but this one gets me moving. Love Letters To Cleo…and miss Heath Ledger & have always been a big Julia Styles fan.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers stole my heart in the Pretty Woman Soundtrack, though the whole thing is chock full with awesome tunes!

I chose this last one to be my final selection because it’s powerful and uplifting…and something that lightens my heart…and hopefully yours. It’s from Sister Act 2: Back In The Habit. Man, can Lauryn Hill sing!

So what about you guys? Do you have favorite soundtracks? Maybe favorite songs from certain movies? What uplifts you when your heart is heavy? Your turn to share…and hopefully I’ve made you laugh…or smile…or brought back some memories. 🙂

27 thoughts on “Writing And Music And Where They Merge

  1. viveka says:

    Pretty Woman is a movie that … make us feel good inside and not too much thinking as get into the watching. Music is the same to me .. need it as I need water.

  2. L.J. Kentowski says:

    You know my prayers are with you everyday hon! I sure hope everything works out.

    As far as soundtracks, I’m going to be one of ‘them’ old school girly girls right now and go with Grease. Loved every song from that movie! Me and my friends used to act out all the songs (there were boys too 😉 ). And Grease 2 came around and gave us even more skits!

  3. Holly J says:

    Some movies I’ve only seen because of music played in the trailer. Or there are movies I’ve loved, just based on the music that was playing in a certain scene. That and the decor.

  4. filbio says:

    Sorry to hear about your father in law. Hope he beats it again.

    I could not live without music. I am lucky that I have a job where I can play it all day while working. It’s the soundtrack of my life. Pretty much any John Hughes movie has an awesome soundtrack, along with many Rocky movies that I grew up with.

    Phil
    http://www.blog.theregularguynyc.com

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Yeah…I grew up on John Hughes movies, too. I still remember Spandau Ballet’s “I Know This Much Is True” because it’s the song Jake danced with the blond bimbo to in Sixteen Candles….:-) As for Rocky…I think the only one that ever stood out to me was Survivor’s “The Eye Of The Tiger”. 😀

  5. Lisa M. says:

    Great top 5 list! I forgot how many cool songs were on the Pretty Woman soundtrack! I’m all about music as well; it has been a big part of me ever since I can remember. I truly believe life should have a soundtrack. In my head, it often does!
    My thoughts are with you and your family.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Thanks, Lisa! Sounds like your head and mine are friends! 😉 As for Pretty Woman…yeah, it was chock full of fun songs. I play SongPOP and beat people to David Bowie all the time when they play Fame 90 thanks to that soundtrack…LOL!

  6. ramblingsfromamum says:

    I love all music apart from Jazz – can’t get my head around it. Right now after listening to your clips I have put on Hallelujah …my post will reflect the mood of the song. Music Music and writing 🙂 what a lovely world xxx Thanks honey.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

