Remembering 20 Little Angels

As many of you know, early in January my account got suspended because I was mistaken for spam. After about 4 days Word press finally realized the error and returned my account back to me. At that time I’d posted a blog about someone I consider One Of The Good Guys. Unfortunately it happened right before I posted this particular blog.

In society today, people have been gaining more notoriety from poor behaviors, falls from grace, etc. I, like many of you, have become conditioned to be cynical. So when I hear about a celebrity so moved by a tragedy that he’s compelled to do something to help, I perk up. I take notice.

The cynics are always ready when they hear someone made a song about it…”Sure, real classy… Make money off people’s grief.” There may have been a time or two where I’ve thought similar thoughts about certain books or movies. But again, this one was different. Andy Griggs sat horrified as the events at Sandy Hook Elementary unfolded before our stricken nation. Like all of us he cried. He sent out messages on Facebook and Twitter wondering if anyone knew people in New Town and what he could do to help. Obviously he and a songwriter friend wrote a song, then cut it. Then he made sure that all the proceeds went to United Way in New Town and that he would be completely unable to touch any of those funds. The other day while surfing YouTube he found that someone had taken his song and made a video for it. He loved it and encouraged us all to check it out…

As Valentine’s Day is coming I felt the need to send some love to New Town and the families of those lost… So I’m sharing the video and keeping New Town, Connecticut in my prayers. It was good to see the children of Sandy Hook Chorus singing in the Superbowl…and a great reminder that it’s important to continue to move forward with love and remembrance in our hearts.

24 thoughts on “Remembering 20 Little Angels

  1. Phil says:

    Very touching post. I still am in shock that this happened. We will never forget those innocent kids that lost their lives way too soon.

    Glad to know they found out you weren’t a spammer!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

