Stay Awake

Have you ever found yourself wide awake when you should be sleeping? When you’ve needed it the most? I’m definitely not an insomniac like my wonderful artist friend, Benjamin, but I’ve found that my sleep patterns have been all kinds of distorted lately. (And I’m a girl who needs that 8 hours to feel normal)

As many of you know, I’ve been taking a minor hiatus from blogging to complete a project I’ve been working on. The project should be done by tomorrow, I think. Thank goodness, because I think it’s been causing me to lose my valuable sleep. I’ve also finally done something with my Facebook page, so I can be found there. (And that has been one more thing to demand my time…like Twitter wasn’t bad enough, right?)

Anyway, today, thanks to a couple of buddies on Facebook, I played around, posting pictures of hotties and other such things for my buddies. I also found myself on YouTube. Being there, I was reminded of one of my favorite lullabyes…so I’m sharing it tonight, hoping it brings the sandman for those of you who are in dire need.

What do you do when you can’t sleep? I listen to music. What is your favorite lullabye?

 

22 thoughts on “Stay Awake

  1. Jessi Gage says:

    Insomnia is the worst! Your attitude is so positive though:) I’m glad you made the most of it.

    My favorite lullaby is Hush Little Baby. When I had my daughter, I looked up all the words. I’ve sung it just about every day since. To b

  2. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Insomnia – you are talking the Queen here! I have to drug myself to get a decent nights sleep. Lullabyes won’t work I’m afraid. I can’t switch off (perhaps because I have much in my mind right now) if it’s not my parents health or my daughters fighting (yes they are adults) or work or my girlfriend at work and our relationship crumbling, then it’s words of poetry and posts… I am doomed 😦

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      ::hugs:: Yes, I think there was too much going on in my brain as well. I needed to find a way to shut it down for a while. Thankfully, I did. I just needed to remind myself of who I am and not to fear success. It’s just strange after so many years of looking out for other people and their careers to realize that it’s my time… That the only person I need to look out for is me. After all these years as a team player, I’m now solitary. Heck, I don’t know if that even makes sense.

  3. viveka says:

    I drink a glass of hot milk … and I count to one when I inhale and two when I breathe out – it works very quickly. Learned that from an episode of the Mentalist.

  4. Phil says:

    Normally I sleep like a rock, and I have been told I snore. Loud.

    One night my fiancee’ is going to suffocate me with a pillow and end it all. She is an insomniac and hates that I sleep so good.

  5. Emma says:

    If I can’t sleep I just get up and go downstairs, find a late night film to watch and curl up on the couch with a blanket. I’m usually dozing off after a half hour.
    Thanks for the FB pics. 🙂

  6. marrymeknot says:

    Not sleeping is the worst. It affects your whole day. Sleep is one of the most important things you can do consistently for your mind and your body. However, I do wonder how many people really get the amount they are supposed to? It can’t be very many.

  7. The Guy says:

    I hate it when insomnia strikes. It frequently visits me and I then don’t fall asleep until around 4 or 5am. Nightmare! (Well it would be if I slept long enough to dream).

    I do try natural sleeping aids from time to time and they can help at times. Otherwise read a really dull book or government report.

  8. gabrielablandy says:

    It’s so bad when sleep won’t come. I’m the same in that I need a good 8 hours – sometimes more!! On nights that I don’t sleep well I actually make sure that the following day I spend at least half an hour relaxing and not being stimulated by anything like tv. That way I know that I won’t go to bed the following day still tense from not sleeping the night before.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

