Beauty Of The Earth

Happy Earth Day!

How often do we really take time to stop and look around at the natural beauty that surrounds us? Isn’t it funny that often, to see the beauty in nature, we must observe it elsewhere? Many people would tell me I live in paradise. Truthfully, until this last year, it would’ve taken a lot for me to even notice some of the natural beauty that surrounds me.

Scented Jasmine in my entryway

Scented Jasmine in my entryway

A year ago, I doubt that I would’ve noticed the lovely scents my jasmine blooms are releasing as I walk in and out of my house. Or that I finally got my first gardenia bloom of the season while I was in the Bahamas.

Jasmine climbing the post in front of my house

Jasmine climbing the post in front of my house

I would’ve failed to notice how such small, delicate flowers can create such a gorgeous fresh scent. I definitely would’ve missed the sunset on the beach that I posted months ago….and would probably not even have looked up to notice the Florida panther from a while back, either.

Why is that? Why would I have missed those joys, but caught the amazing color of the ocean while I was in the Bahamas? Or ignored the palm trees at home, only to be awed by the ones there?

Sometimes I think we get so caught up in our daily lives that we forget to look around us. It’s only when we disconnect from the world we’re used to that our eyes open to absorb the amazing every day beauty that surrounds us…and it’s not even OUR every day.

Maybe it’s everything that’s happening in the world lately that has me a little introspective. Who could blame me? This last year has been full of upheaval, both for me as a person…and for the world. There is so much ugly in the world…too much. But there’s some truly amazing beauty there, too. So what is it about human nature that has us focusing on all the negative stuff? The hurtful? The cruel? Why is the focus so rarely on the beautiful or inspirational? The joy?

To tell you the truth, I stopped watching the news years ago. I couldn’t stand all the negativity and hatefulness. I figured I’d probably hear what I needed to know on Facebook or Twitter anyway. Plus, if I spent too much time watching all the atrocities on the news I may have found myself going the way of Emily Dickinson. It’s one of the reasons I can’t handle most reality TV. Does that mean I watch no reality shows? No. Because technically, shows like The Voice or Dancing With The Stars (my guilty pleasure-Go Team Ingo!) are considered reality shows. The shows that make celebrities out of people for acting ridiculous or that seem to enjoy ridiculing others…? Not interested.

It’s odd, but the same reason I rarely watch horror or gratuitous violence movies has become the same reason I don’t watch the news and rarely read the paper. I don’t want that kind of negativity to have a foothold in my brain. Don’t misunderstand. I’m well aware that there are bad things in this world. You can’t live more than a couple years without being confronted by such hard truths. But like many other things, I’ve come to realize I have a choice: to let all the bad scar or scare me, to become indifferent to the hardships/suffering/pain of those around me, or to look for (and find) the best in people…and let go of the worst.

Why am I talking about people on Earth Day? Because we’re a big part of what makes the Earth beautiful. We’re also a big part of what tears it apart. I’m not exactly what anyone would call a “tree hugger” by any stretch of the imagination. My contributions are limited to cleaning up my own litter and recycling. Well, at least my physical contributions. The contributions I give through my heart and spirit…well, I’d like to think that’s completely different. “Control your controllables”. That was advice a former boss once gave me. She was right. The thing I can control the most? Me. So I choose to maintain a positive outlook. I choose to seek the best in people. I choose to see the love and kindness that were shown to strangers in Boston and in Texas. I choose to see the outpouring of support and friendship sent our way from all over the world.

People can call me foolish or naïve. I’d rather have hope and live with joy in my heart than the fear, bitterness and anger that they allow to take control of theirs… I’d ask if you guys think I’m foolish or crazy, but let’s be honest… even if you did, when it comes to this…I wouldn’t care. Plus, I know I’m not the only optimist…. I would love to know what you guys have been thinking about this last week, though.

It’s hard to believe that it was just a week ago today that I was preparing to board a plane from the Bahamas back to the states only to hear about the tragedy in Boston (and the everyday heroes who went out of their way to help their fellow man simply because they were in a position to do so). Maybe that’s the root of my introspection. Who knows… Either way, I leave you with this… Love life. Love each other. It’s just one more way to love the earth.  It’s our sacred duty…which is why I selected the song at the top. For those of you who’d never heard it before, it’s John Rutter’s “For The Beauty Of The Earth”.

 

21 thoughts on “Beauty Of The Earth

  1. Phil says:

    What a terrific post.I think many of us don’t think of the Earth like this as we are all caught up in our every day lives. It definitely offers something to think about.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      It really does. I think that is probably my biggest lesson learned this year. Don’t get so caught up in your “life” that you miss the best parts of it. Also, don’t let things like work take away the things you truly love.

  2. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Yes indeed we do not stop long enough to smell the roses let alone look at them. Life is too hectic, pressured, managed. Life also can end in a blink of an eye. A lovely post to remind us all in the beauty that can be lost if we don’t take the time to open our eyes. xx

  3. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    It really is amazing the beauty we miss in our day to day lives because they just become so routine. I know I’m guilty of it too. When I was leaving the house today I noticed a splash of purple in the side yard and went to investigate and it turned out it was a plant I’d put in a year or so ago and it was finally blooming. It was so pretty and got me looking around the rest of the yard and noticing all the other little things that have sprouted up already this spring and I just hadn’t seen.

    Definitely makes you think and want to make a bit of a change in how you go about your life!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      That’s it! When we take the time to notice the beauty around us, we’re more likely to make more changes that allow us to soak in those feelings more often….and to create moments like that for others.

  4. PapaBear says:

    Hi Kitt,
    A lot of what you wrote here brought back memories of the 8yrs we spent in Florida. Gardenias, jasmine, hibiscus, oleander, orchid trees and all the rest of those beautiful sights and scents…, and the beach…, how I do miss it !!! Where in FL are you. We lived in the Sarasota/Bradenton area, in an island community along the intercoastal. Would still be there were it not for grandkids. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my post. Am in the process of exploring your site. Best to ya !
    Paul

  5. Professor Taboo says:

    Great post! We do indeed get very caught up in our fast pace lives. Earth (and our Universe/Multiverse) sustains us in so many ways on so many levels, it is easy to miss out. Are we becoming less human “beings” and more human doers?

  6. amadiex says:

    I really liked what you said, “Control your controllables.” I think it is vital to step away from the world that has been created by media and see the world and what it can offer. Stopping and smelling the roses brings us back to simplicity and beauty that calms and refreshes our soul.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

