Where To Find Beautiful

With all the terrible sadness and tragedy of this last week, my heart has been a bit heavy. My thoughts have been with those in Oklahoma who are going through so much right now. My prayers have been filled with them and childhood and online friends who’ve recently been diagnosed with cancer.

I needed my heart to be soothed. To remember the good in the world. To be empowered and inspired.

Today I thought I’d share with you the things that have touched me….and hope that they speak to you, too.

Here’s some poetry from a young lady named Botlhale Boikanyo from South Africa’s Got Talent at the age of 11.

Next is Kellie Pickler and Derek Hough’s Freestyle performance Monday night on Dancing With The Stars. It brought tears to my eyes. The emotions were so clearly displayed. She bared her soul with that dance. (The song was gorgeous, too.)

My last addition is a song sung by Jotta A, a Brazilian boy. I believe he was 12 at the time of this particular recording. I think it might be from Brazil’s Got Talent. You can definitely tell English is not his first language as he mispronounces some words, but the heart of the song…the message…  He delivers that, loud and clear. He’s singing Chris Tomlin’s Amazing Grace/My Chains Are Gone.

Where do you go when you need to add a little beauty to your life? Have you seen anything that’s wow’ed you lately? If so, please share it with me!

26 thoughts on “Where To Find Beautiful

  1. L.J. Kentowski says:

    Sometimes you just have to shut the TV off and reflect on what’s good in this world. It’s hard. I cried so much and still do when I see reports of OK. It shows we have heart. To be honest, at times like that, I look to my family and just wait for their smiles to soothe the heavy heart. Knowing they are healthy, happy, and with me is all I need to lift my heart back up.

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Lovely post, Kitt. My husband is the one who fills my world when all is dark and dreary. We lost someone to cancer this week. Coupled with the news from OK, it’s made for a heart-heavy few days. Prayer is definitely a mainstay for me in rough times.

  3. Katie says:

    I feel a little spoiled in that I get to be down in the city every day. Despite the rush, the occasional death by taxi, and the frequent smell of urine, I’m amazed every day by how beautiful and alive Chicago is.

  4. susielindau says:

    Hey! I am going to motor through and will be better than ever! I keep thinking that I have been battling this rare form of cancer for 7 years already. It will feel great to be rid of it. I can’t wait!
    It is sad to watch those affected by the tornado. That’s what puts my hiccup in perspective for me. I am saying prayers for them.
    I Loved that Kelly Pickler won! She has not had an easy life either as I recall.
    Smile girl! Smile! Enjoy the sunshine today. I plan to!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I know you will. You’re a tough woman, body and spirit. You are in my prayers.

      Yeah, Kellie has had a really tough life, too. Her indomitable cheeriness and outlook make her so unique…and I love her humor. She reminds me of a female Blake Shelton. It cracks me up that there are people who can’t see past her “dumb blond” façade. That’s one savvy woman…and soooo talented!

      Today I’ll be writing…and this evening, singing with my praise team at church. 🙂

  5. Emma says:

    The world seems to be giving us one horrible event after the other these days. I’m just thinking of the awful attack on the soldier in London yesterday.
    I go to music when the world gets too tough, or watch some comedy.

  6. filbio says:

    With so much tragedy and sadness around lately its nice to reflect back on some nice moments like these to ease the pain. Hopefully we won’t see any more bad news for a while now.

  7. Jess Witkins says:

    Wow. powerful videos all of them. I think each one made me tear up. But the dance especially, what skill and emotion working together to make something truly beautiful. Thanks for sharing them, Kitt.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      You’re welcome. I’m glad you liked them…and you’re not the only one who teared up at all three. Things that touch the soul always seem to get that response from me.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

