Talking Six Train To Wisconsin With Kourtney Heintz

As most of you know, I have a passion for books, writing and supporting authors. Today I get the opportunity to introduce you guys to a fellow blogging buddy and first time author. My friend, Kourtney Heintz, and I met through mutual blogging buddies and found a commonality in our love for the written word.

She has recently published her freshman novel, The Six Train To Wisconsin and has agreed to let me introduce her to you guys! She’s a wonderful lady, so I really hope you enjoy our interview as much as I did.

Me:

Kourtney, first I’d like to ask you a few questions about yourself so my followers can get to know the awesome lady you are!

Kourtney: 

Thanks, Kitt. I’d love that!

Me:

As a writer, if you’re like me, you’ve been a long time reader.

Kourtney:

Of course! Aren’t we all?

Me:

What is the first book you remember reading that had you saying “Wow! I want to do THAT!”?

Kourtney:

I think it was the Wizard of Oz series. I wrote my own fan fiction about Ozma in Oz as a kid. I wanted to be in the world Baum created, spending time with characters I adored.

Me:

Oooh! I loved the Wizard of Oz series as a kid. I think I was in 3rd grade when I discovered it! So what about outside the book universe? What do you like to do for fun? Hobbies?

Kourtney:

There are other things besides writing? Just kidding!

I do archery, belly dance, read, paint, cook, swim, and travel (as time and money permits). I’m a bit rusty on my Mandarin Chinese, but I spent over a decade learning to speak and write the language. I can also crochet and most of my friends and family have a scarf from me.

Me:

You wild woman! You belly dance? How cool is that? The writer version of Shakira right here, folks! 😉 And Mandarin isn’t exactly an easy language to learn! Those are some awesome hobbies. So you surprised me with the belly dancing. Any other things people would be surprised to learn about you?

Kourtney: 

I have a terrible time with right and left. If you are ever giving me directions, point in the direction instead of using the words and give me landmarks. That way I might actually get where I’m going.

Me:

Truth? Sometimes I have trouble, too. I feel for my writing callus on my right hand when I get confuzzled. 😉
So who’s been the biggest cheerleader in your camp? You know…the person that pushes you or encourages you when doubt decides to sit on your shoulder and whisper in your ear?

Kourtney:

My mom. She read early drafts and told me when they needed work, but she always believed I could get there. She let me move into her living room so I could write full time.

Me:

That’s awesome! Although my mom’s supportive, there’s no way in Hades I’d let her read my stuff. The content is not exactly conducive to parent/child sharing…especially when the parent is very religious. 🙂 Since we’re talking books, your book takes place in a small town in Wisconsin, the hero’s home town. Your characters prove that home towns can be complicated places to go back to… What’s your home town like?

Kourtney:

I think most places are pretty simple. It’s the relationships and the emotions that complicate everything. My hometown is a special place. Most of my family still resides here. I moved back a few years ago from New York. The biggest thing I noticed is the greenery. It’s everywhere. And people are friendly. I’m so used to being another face in a crowd it was kind of weird to have people recognize me and know me.

Me:

Pretty soon everyone in town’s going to know you as the cool author lady! It’s great that you were able to go back home after you left New York. There’s nothing like being around family when you start a new chapter of your life.
So your characters…Kai and Oliver. Tell me about them….

Kourtney:

I don’t believe love is a destination. I think it’s a journey we take with someone. And sometimes it’s messy and unpredictable. Oliver and Kai are two people who desperately need each other and want to save each other. But neither realizes they need to save themselves too.

Me:

I’d agree about love being a destination….it’s definitely an adventure or, as you put it, a journey. And it’s definitely got it’s fair share of complications along the way. Now your title is an unusual one. How did you come up with The Six Train To Wisconsin?

Kourtney:

It came to my while I was riding the subway in New York during the commute between my apartment and my office. I was staring at the subway map on the wall across from me. My eyes traced the route of the 6 Train from the Bronx to Manhattan. It passed 51 St where Oliver worked, hit Bleeker where they lived, and went down to City Hall where Kai worked.

The characters move from New York to Wisconsin. It is not an easy journey emotionally or physically for them. I thought about how the 6 Train doesn’t run to Wisconsin but for them it has to. I wanted the title to hint at the conflict of their journey.

Me: How cool is that? Obviously a lot of depth and thought went into the writing of your freshman effort. What do you hope your readers take away from Six Train?

Kourtney:

That we are all beautifully imperfect. People do bad things for good reasons. Does that mean they are bad? I think each of us had to answer that question for ourselves.

Me:

That’s a beautiful lesson, Kourtney, and an important one… So what about YOU? What lesson did your characters teach you on this journey?

Kourtney:

Relationships can be repaired. No matter how shattered trust or love seem, the crystals can be regrown.

Me: Wow. That’s lovely! Guys, isn’t this lady awesome? Kourtney would love some feedback and support from you guys. What did you guys think of her interview? Any questions of your own?

SixTraintoWisconsin1600

Here’s a little more sharing from our wonderful friend, Kourtney. Thanks again for spending time with us today!

The Six Train to Wisconsin Back Cover:

Sometimes saving the person you love can cost you everything.

There is one person that ties Oliver Richter to this world: his wife Kai. For Kai, Oliver is the keeper of her secrets.

When her telepathy spirals out of control and inundates her mind with the thoughts and emotions of everyone within a half-mile radius, the life they built together in Manhattan is threatened.

To save her, Oliver brings her to the hometown he abandoned—Butternut, Wisconsin—where the secrets of his past remain buried. But the past has a way of refusing to stay dead. Can Kai save Oliver before his secrets claim their future?

An emotionally powerful debut, The Six Train to Wisconsin pushes the bounds of love as it explores devotion, forgiveness and acceptance.Kourtney

Author Bio:

Kourtney Heintz writes emotionally evocative speculative fiction that captures the deepest truths of being human. For her characters, love is a journey never a destination.

She resides in Connecticut with her warrior lapdog, Emerson, her supportive parents and three quirky golden retrievers. Years of working on Wall Street provided the perfect backdrop for her imagination to run amuck at night, imagining a world where out-of-control telepathy and buried secrets collide.

Her debut novel, The Six Train to Wisconsin, was a 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Semifinalist.

Connecting with Kourtney

Website: http://kourtneyheintz.com

Blog: http://kourtneyheintz.wordpress.com

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/kourtneyheintzwriter

Buy Links

Paperback available from:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Ebook available from:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

Kobo

iTunes

21 thoughts on “Talking Six Train To Wisconsin With Kourtney Heintz

  1. L.J. Kentowski says:

    Great interview guys! Love the sound of this book, Kourtney! I’ve lived in Wisconsin all my life! Last year I took a trip to New York and can relate to the major difference in lifestyle. When I came home, it felt like everything was in slow motion, but I loved every minute of it. It really brought me “busy” lifestyle into perspective!

    • Kourtney Heintz says:

      Thanks L.J.! Kitt came up with fantastic questions that were fun to answer. 🙂 Thanks–I had a wonderful time writing it. Wow. That had to be quite shock. It took me months to shift from Manhattan to Wolcott speed. A New York minute is something everyone should experience at least once. 😉

  2. Christy Birmingham says:

    I like Kourtney’s lines about being ‘beautifully imperfect’. It took me a long time to understand what that meant. So nice Kitt to have Kourtney in for an interview – love to you both!

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Hi, Kourtney. It’s a pleasure to meet you. Your book sounds fantastic! I just hopped over to Amazon, read the beginning and was hooked. Naturally, I bought it. 🙂 I’m not usually a fan of alternating POV, but you have one incredible author’s voice, especially with imagery and description. I can’t wait to explore the entire novel. Wishing you much success.

    Fantastic interview, ladies. Kitt, thanks for introducing me to an author I probably would not have discovered otherwise!

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Yay! Hearing that makes me happy that I’ve started doing fun things to introduce different authors to my friends. 🙂

      You’re both wonderful ladies (and writers), so I’m especially thrilled at the opportunity to introduce you to each other.

    • Kourtney Heintz says:

      HI Mae! It’s lovely to meet you too. You made my week. 🙂 Thank you so much. I’m delighted to hear I hooked you with my opening. Oh yay! You bought it!! Thank you so much! Aw thank you. *Blushing* I am not a natural with setting so I work hard to make it fresh and intrinsically linked to the POV of the character. 🙂

      Thank you Kitt for introducing me to such a lovely blog friend and reader. 🙂

  4. filbio says:

    Great interview. Kourtney sounds like an interesting person. Always fun to read about a person’s backgrounds and hobbies. Sounds like the book was a hit.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

