A Little Variety

How can people eat at the same place All. The. Time????

As a whole, human beings are creatures of habit. I know this… Yet I had a mini-meltdown last Friday at the idea of eating at the same place…AGAIN. Hubby and I have a couple of friends that we meet with most Friday evenings for dinner. Back when I was working in a traditional job, I worked non-traditional hours, so I was often working on Friday nights. Fine. Perfect! Hubby would meet up with this other couple and enjoy dinner.

Now that I’m not working in a retail environment, I’m free every Friday evening. Don’t get me wrong…I enjoy getting out. But eating at the same restaurant every. single. time? I couldn’t take it anymore! Seriously.  First, it’s a wing place… Yeah, there are a few other things on the menu, but it’s basic American cuisine of salads and burgers and wings. Blah!

This last weekend, I chose to stay home and relax rather than go out to eat because the thought of going there again drove me bat shit crazy. It wasn’t like I hadn’t voiced my thoughts on the whole thing. In fact, I’d definitely voiced my opinions the week prior to the other couple. Some people can eat the same stuff over and over…. I’m not one of them.

Come to think of it, I think that trait may lend itself to the rest of my life as well. I wonder if I can blame my mom for this… after all, she’s the one who told me when I was younger that I should date as many boys as possible while I was young so that when the “right one” came along, I’d recognize him. Then there was the fact that we moved a lot…Yeah, it’s a hazard of being a military brat…that case of wanderlust that appears from time to time.

Well, I took my mom’s advice… I dated. A lot. And during my teen years, I messed around…a lot, though, oddly enough…I didn’t lose my virginity till I was 20 by choice. Why? Because I just didn’t feel emotionally mature enough to make that call…or deal with the consequences (and I damned sure knew that there was a possibility of all sorts of consequences).

The other reason I waited? I didn’t want regrets. Too many of my friends lost their virginity early simply because they wanted to be cool or because they allowed their boyfriends to pressure them…only to wish they hadn’t done it later. My thought was, I don’t necessarily want to marry the guy I lose my virginity to, but I do want to love him so I won’t be sorry I chose him. It worked for me. No regrets.

However, I also knew I’d want to know what was out there…so I experimented with “everything but”. It was quite the learning period. I had a lot of fun. Truthfully, I think I was 17 when I first experimented with bondage in the form of thumb cuffs…on my 6’1″ boyfriend. I’m 5’3″. It was a ton of fun for both of us. It was also during my teen years that I realized that I had an exhibitionistic streak.

As for the control thing… Well, it’s always sort of been there (some of you are probably thinking to the above cuffs comment and thinking…duh!). Most people who’ve known me well know that I’m not someone who likes to be out of control. It’s why I’ve never tried drugs. It’s also why the only two times I’ve been mildly drunk has been in a gay bar with my best friend where the likelihood of me being a target was not very likely at all.

The things I’ve learned? Variety truly can be the spice of life…for certain people. For others, it instills fear. What about you? Can you eat the same thing over and over again or are you like me? Does it drive you crazy?

While I’m at it…many of you know I’m a huge Gleek…so I’d like to just say…Rest In Peace Cory Monteith. Another talented soul, gone way too young.

44 thoughts on “A Little Variety

  1. Laura Beth says:

    Kitt, hats off to you for staying home on Friday and for being so transparent with your readers. I enjoyed reading the connections between your former dating experience and your lack of interest in the repeat offender that is the wing place!

  2. theresa says:

    I so agree….I am a complete variety lush…my fave things even change so much that I can never use stuff like that for my internet security questions because I change so much and I forget what my mood and taste was at the time (really bad, I know)! Bartenders hate me because there is no pouring me “my regular” when I walk in the door. It’s rare that I ever watch a movie more than once…I feel lime I’m wasting my time.
    Cheers to variety!

  3. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Going from eating at the same place – to your virginity – quite a sway in topics here. 😀 No eating at the same place all the time for me, I enjoy variety. If there is a Restaurant where I love the food we shall frequent more often, but not on a weekly basis – couldn’t possibly! RIP Cory, how utterly tragic for another young soul.

  4. Andrea Nelson Robert says:

    Maybe it’s the Taurus in me..but I AM a creature of habit. I like a bit of variety in my dining routine, but on Mondays, it had better be a tuna sub on wheat with Swiss cheese, no mayo, no mustard at Firehouse, or I may possibly revolt.

  5. Katie says:

    I frequently eat the same things over and over again. Going out to eat a few times a month is good for me. The only thing I NEED to switch up are the desserts I eat.

  6. Professor Taboo says:

    I am most definitely 85% orchid and 15% dandelion — referring to my post DRD4-7R and the human genetic wiring. I would never survive in a robotic routine society or a “Seaside, Florida” of the movie “The Truman Show.” My ‘appetites’ are way too healthy! LOL

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LMAO! “Seaside, Florida” of the Truman Show, thankfully, does not exist. The closest I get are those Friday nights…and on those nights…well, let’s just say that I’ve reached the end of my rope and won’t be going back into that pattern.

      I’m sure you’ve already picked up on my “healthy appetites” as well.

  7. filbio says:

    Well, with all my training for an upcoming Warrior Dash that I am running for charity I am pretty much eating the same thing each day! Protein shake for breakfast, fish and veggies for lunch, another protein drink, chicken and veggies or a salad for dinner. One cheat day a week. For the last two months but it doesn’t bother me too much. I’m eating for nutrition now rather than excitement. After Aug 3rd I will go nuts again. It’s easy to have variety in NYC as there are a ton of spots to eat.

    Also, when it comes to sex variety is the spice of life! Gotta tray new things now and then.

  8. LanthieRansom says:

    I’m just like you – I can’t eat the same thing all the time or food from the same restaurant. We have a family tradition where we order take out on a Friday night – my kids ALWAYS want from the same place year after year. Drives me nuts and I want to throw up when I think of it. Would rather starve!
    I too like being in control – never done the drug thing and only ever been slightly tipsy and never drunk .

  9. brickhousechick says:

    Kit! How refreshing to find another person who “waited” before…you know what. I was 26! And like you, no regrets! 🙂 I have to say that I am like you, I never want to vacation at the same place twice. My husband on the other hand, loves to eat at the same place every Friday night and have his favorite hamburger. Luckily, the place has a varied menu so I can eat something different each time. 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I think it’s important to know your own mind when you make life altering decisions. Sadly, not everyone realizes that’s what the decision is when they make their choice.

      As for you & hubby…sounds like you’ve found a formula that works for you! 🙂

  10. Jessi Gage says:

    What does it say about me if I cook the same 3 dinners on the same 3 nights every week and that on the 3 days I don’t cook, we get the same takeout at the same places or eat the same thing that my mom cooks when it’s her night? I guess I like the same things. Yet within that same menu, I find a lot of variety. I make pork roast every Monday (very American). We eat my mom’s cooking on Tuesdays. Wednesdays it’s German night with brats & saurkraut, beer, and dark rye bread. Thursdays is usually some kind of pasta (Italian). Friday is pizza (American), and the weekend is when we get takeout at one of our neighborhood Thai places. Oh, Sundays is Arby’s. Sorry. I know I’m in the minority, but I love Arbys.

    So, can I vote both? That I love variety, and I love the same?

  11. Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB) says:

    One of my friends and her husband alternate between the same two restaurants, and I know this because she always checks in on Facebook. Just a few days ago, I was pointing it out to my husband, and both of us were like that is so lame. We tend to try new restaurants like they’re going out of style. In some areas of life. I’m guilty of being routine in some areas of life, but the food and travel area has never been one of them. There’s something to be said for tried and true places. For two years, I fantasized about eating carne asada at my favorite Mexican place in Idaho when I was disappointed over and over again when trying to find good Mexican food in Charlotte. Now I’m back, and where is the first place I ate? El Tenampa! Om nom nom.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Oh, I’m the same way. When I go back to Chicago for visits there are specific restaurants that I can’t miss. Siam Kitchen, my favorite Thai place is usually first on my list. 🙂

  12. Jennifer says:

    I usually eat the same things every day … except for Fri/Sat. So, yeah, it would get on my nerves if I went to the same restaurant every Fri/Sat. I have to mix it up! Last weekend, sushi. This weekend, BBQ? Maybe Sweet Frog. Maybe some bondage. Who knows?! 😀

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Mmmm! Sushi! Love sushi. Hubby has been messing with our smoker on our grill lately. He did his first smoked brisket last Sunday. Yum! This last Friday we FINALLY went someplace different. I was bad and had chicken fried chicken. 😀

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

