Halloween Harmonies

Yes, I’ve been away for a little while. I took on a new temporary job that has kept me hopping. This last week has been all about me getting used to the travel and the rhythms of this new adventure.

In the meantime, Halloween has been on my brain. This holiday is full of frightful fun! We’ve been known to go all out with our yard décor….

Like this guy...

Like this guy…

This year I’m not sure if we’ll have time to decorate, but that doesn’t mean we can’t get into the spirit of the holiday. Here are five of my favorite songs that bring out my Halloween festive side. To be fair, none of them are really scary. They’re more music to set the mood for fun parties.

Starting with a bit of Shmaltz, we’ll go with a tried and true classic by the Oak Ridge Boys in honor of the original queen of the darkness…. It’s good for young and old alike.

Next is one of my favorite Glee mashups, combining Michael Jackson and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Not only is it still kid friendly, it’s fun, playful and gets everyone dancing…and singing their favorite parts.

Getting a little darker, Warren Zevon pays homage to the werewolf, one of my favorite beasties. It definitely gets a person moving.

Of course, you can’t think Halloween and leave out the Witches…so the next two are for them. I’m a big fan of Joss Stone’s voice, but you combine her with Jeff Beck and you’ve got some serious spells flying….

Of course witch craft has such strong, seductive power that we can’t possibly leave out the very sensual Eagles song…

And now that I’m in a sexy mood…maybe it’s time to pick out a costume. Tameri Etherton, my fabulous blogging buddy who keeps me on her toes, recently suggested that with my dark side, this particular outfit might be ideal…. (She sent the picture to me via Facebook)

Is this outfit me???

Is this outfit me???

Do you have a better costume idea for me? Any favorite Halloween songs that get you in the party mood? I’d love to hear what you guys are thinking!

32 thoughts on “Halloween Harmonies

  1. Gloria Richard Author says:

    Does it really matter what costume you wear, Kitt?

    You’ll lose it after those porch lights go out. IYKWIM.

    Love listening to Elvira. Not only because it’s from the Oak Ridge Boys. I learned to line-dance to that song. At my sister-of-the-heart’s wedding decades ago, her new MIL loved watching us line dance (me, plus my newly trained line-dancers). She loved it so much she kept sending requests to the DJ to have Elvira played again and again and again.

    And, I never met a dance I didn’t love to rock.

    Best of everything with your new adventure. I love that you have that outlook on it, btw. Life is one big ole’ adventure.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      The sign made that costume, anyway, right?

      I think it ‘s awesome that you ladies indulged her new MIL!

      Thanks for the well wishes. You’re right. Life is full of adventures. It’s all about your perspective!

  2. brickhousechick says:

    Glad to hear that all is well with you, Kitt. I was missing seeing you around and being the catholic-hispanic chick that I am, I always think worse case scenario. I went to a wild Halloween party last night as a sexy prisoner. My costume had quite the hole showcasing my cleavage and my husband who was also a prisoner, handcuffed himself to me the whole night! Loving the costume Temeri sent you. 🙂

  3. Tameri Etherton says:

    Great music Kitt! I haven’t heard several of these, but downloaded them to my ‘Halloween’ playlist. I love the Vader costume for you! We’d look adorable with you as the sexy bondage Vader, and me as the pink princess Vader. One of these years, we need to make it happen. For real.

    I’m loving that ~ Go Force it! Awesome.

  4. Jess Witkins says:

    I love that you have Elvira in here! I haven’t seen her in years! We used to have a lifesize cut out of Elvira (came in to our family’s restaurant and bar as some advertisement).

  5. Professor Taboo says:

    Halloween is my all-time favorite celebration; so much so that I/we do it frequently throughout the year! I too LOVE the Zombie coming out of the ground! Frightfully exquisite! Way too cool!

    Love the Darth Vader/Vixen costume idea. Totally see that as you.

  6. Mike says:

    This post was an amazing trip back down memory lane for me, Kitt! Some favorites I hadn’t heard in a long time – Werewolf in London, Witchy Woman and Elvira (yummy!). Lots of fun here 🙂

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

