Flowers and the Wild Side

When my dear friend, author and fellow blogger, Loni Flowers, agreed to beta read my first book, she was a bit surprised. Not so much with my dirty mind, but with my seriously naughty content. I still remember the message she sent me:

“I wasn’t expecting this type of read, but dare I say you’ve got me all hot and bothered and where is my toy when I need it!?!?!”

It was one of the nicest things I’d ever read because I was a bundle of nerves about sharing my work. This validated that I did a pretty good job. But there’s something really special about Loni… She has a way of making you smile. She knows my passion for music. In fact, she shares it. Unlike her (and mostly thanks to my background in vocal music), I can’t listen to music (especially with words) and write at the same time. Somehow I wind up with song lyrics on the page, rather than my story. I have to use my musical inspirations to put me in the mood to write certain stories or scenes. So it was such an awesome surprise when she messaged me on Facebook and said, “Have you heard the Maroon 5 song ‘Doin Dirt’? It makes me think of the club scene in your book.”

I listened to the song and died laughing…. She had a very valid point. Honestly, I’d never heard the song, but I’ve been hooked on it ever since. It’s perfect. But she’s not the kind of woman to stop there. Today she’s sharing me and that same book she read on her fancy, cool blog!

This is my fab friend, Loni Flowers!

This is my fab friend, Loni Flowers!

Thanks to her, I was also able to find the inspiration for Three For All. She actually didn’t even know that, but it all happened on one of those nights where we were sharing music back and forth and I was struggling with painting my opening scene in my head. Here’s the song I stumbled into that night…

Because she’s so wonderful and generous, I thought I’d share her updated cover reveal for her New Adult Romance, Painted Memories.

Painted Memories

This book is all about love, loss and redemption…with plenty of romance thrown in for good measure. You should check it (and Loni) out!

22 thoughts on “Flowers and the Wild Side

  1. Yatin says:

    Music can really do wonders! It inspires you while my wife uses it to perspire (during her aerobic routines)
    Creativity always comes from a dirty mind, (dirty being a subjective term) I am with you there.
    And yeah, nice to see “writerly” bonds between you two!! Now that is inspiring.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

