Sext and the Modern Age

Many of you may not know this, but my “real world” career outside of writing is actually within the wireless electronics industry.

Yes, that means I’m a pro with smart phones, tablets, etc. It also means I keep up with a lot of the trends…and have usually tried them before they became the cool thing to do. 😉

Selfies? Yeah…I think I started doing that 8 years or so ago.

Sexting? It was a think long before the Favre scandal or Anthony’s Weiner was exposed… 😉

So when Ande Lyons, the Passion Curator for Bring Back Desire, invited me to write a post about relationships and sexting, I jumped at the opportunity. I think it gets a bad rap….and you guys know how I can be when I’m discussing a topic I’m passionate about. Ya’ll have got to stop on over and check it out. Your support or thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Are there any new trends in technology that have wowed or intrigued you? Anything you’ve heard people talk about surrounding technology that you were afraid to ask about because you didn’t want to sound stupid? Share with me….I’ll try to explain as best as I can…or maybe one of the other folks on here will dive on in.

In the meantime, I’ll share a little snippet from my book, Four One Night, with you guys where my heroine, Dani, definitely uses her cell phone to bring on the fun…

Four One Night WEBSITE USE

 

Shaking my head and smiling at our antics, I dialed Michael, glad her mood had lightened with my playful distraction. With the receiver to my ear, the muted strains of “My Cherie Amour” floated through instead of a ring. The frigid air whipped through the thin cotton of my shirt causing a shudder to ripple through my curvy frame. I grabbed for my key fob and quickly pressed the unlock button.

“Hey babe,” his dark, raspy voice came on the line. “What’s up?”

“Well, that all depends on you,” I purred as my hands motioned Candace to get in the car. “Work was nuts and Candace and I need to blow off some steam. We’re headed over to Club Heat for ladies night. Will you join us or do we need to find some other sexy men to play with?”

“Ooh, someone’s feeling feisty.” I could practically see his smile through the rumble in his voice. “I love it when Miss Dani comes out to play.”

“Then you’re gonna love me tonight.” Grabbing the handle, I tugged my door open. Finally out of the chilled air and in the driver’s seat, I slammed the door shut and shoved my key in the ignition.

“Two wild women looking to unleash themselves after a bad day?” The little beep of his car alarm being released sounded through the receiver followed by the slam of the door. “That may be more than I can handle alone.”

Tipping my head against my shoulder to cradle the phone, I turned the key in the ignition, quickly followed by the heater. “Michael Gallo! Afraid you might need reinforcements?”

Music flared in the background as he started his car. “Afraid is such a strong word. I prefer to think of it as being prepared for any eventuality.”

“Well, you know how I feel. The more, the merrier. Hot men and alcohol make everything better!” With one last look in my rear view mirror, I shifted into drive, leaving our bad day in the dust.

His rich laughter slid through me, warming me from the inside. “Good. I’ll give James a call and we’ll see you soon.”

I nodded. “Sounds like a plan.”

12 thoughts on “Sext and the Modern Age

  1. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    Sexting and sending sexy pics over the phone and social networks is always fun but also comes with a bit of worry. Definitely needs to be someone you can trust. Those things can come back to haunt us!

  2. Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB) says:

    I like tinkering with technology, but the time suck factor definitely comes into play. One stupid thing I have yet to resolve is why my iPhone pics won’t stream to my PC. Sometimes it’s the stuff that’s most likely an easy fix that I never get around to taking care of.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      It is a pretty easy fix. Next time you sync your iPhone, check your settings. You should be able to transfer them. They should also sync to iCloud if you have it set up. You can go to iCloud dot com and log in to access them.

  3. Kristy K. James...Where Romance and Fantasy Collide says:

    I almost forgot about the electronics thing after reading the excerpt. Nice job, Kitt. 🙂

    Not offense when I say I hate cell phones. I have one. I I think it’s a prepaid Straight Talk. The refill card is green, the phone says LG on the front, and I mostly use it for an alarm to remind me when I need to take the next bunch of supplements or play taxi for various family members (I get distracted).

    I suspect sexting could be a lot of fun. Unfortunately it involves texting. While I can type about 70 wpm, I tend to text about 7 words per minute, maybe a dozen if they’re short and don’t require punctuation like commas or apostrophes, which – of course – are on a different screen so I have to keep switching back and forth. And that’s if I’m using my stylus. If I forget to put it in my purse when I run an errand, those numbers drop dramatically (and we’re talking pretty low numbers anyway).

    But I do have a question. I think Evernote might be a pretty cool app to have. It’s already on my computer, and if I could figure out how to get it on my phone, I could save a small fortune on the index cards I use for my grocery lists. But I can’t get it on the phone. I also can’t get rid of the apps that were on the phone when I bought it (like Google+ and Messenger). Am I stuck with no Evernote until I break down and buy an even more expensive alarm clock…I mean phone? 😀

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Not necessarily. Check your Playstore. It sounds like you have an android & it is available. The only things that may hold you back are compatibility with your operating system & processor speed.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

