Seduction of Summer

Not too long ago I wrote an article for Sexual Wellness News about the importance of revving up the sex life. Writing it for them, though much more technical than you guys ever see on here, reminded me of the many reasons I’ve always loved this time of year.

As many of you know, I’m not much of a snow person. In fact, I like my snow to arrive between Christmas eve and Christmas day. Period. So as entertained as I may be by posts from my friends from the great white north, it’s not something I’d want for myself. In fact, all it took was a couple of blizzards from back home in Chicago (and a 2 day power outage to go with it) to convince me it was time to search for sunnier skies.

My husband lovingly calls me a closet nudist and he’s not far from wrong. One of the great joys of summertime is the opportunity to throw off articles of clothing that you’ve deemed “necessary to keep you warm” during the less gentle seasons. Ladies, how many times have you found yourself checking out some washboard abs as a guy has decided to shuck his shirt? Gentlemen, how many of you dig seeing your girl in a sundress and flip flops or go to the beach to check out the bikinis? Yes. The ability to take it off is pretty phenomenal. (And if you haven’t tried it because you’re nervous about your body…you should. You’d be amazed at how freeing it feels. And you might also be surprised at how easy it is to accept yourself just a bit more when you’re doing it for pleasure, not analysis in the mirror trying to imagine how “everyone else” sees you.)

Enjoying my pool, libation in hand

Enjoying my pool, libation in hand

Summertime is also a great opportunity to enjoy playful outdoor excursions. If you’re as fortunate as me, sometimes you don’t have to go past your back door. (And if you’ve got enough privacy, it can be a clothing optional event as well!) Okay, so not everyone has a pool in their back yard. What other options are there? How about picnics in the park? Visits to the beach? Outdoor concerts? Neighborhood festivals? So many fun-loving options!

Best of all are summer vacation trips. Isn’t there something very appealing about going someplace where no one knows you? Where you can let your hair down and be whomever you’d like? How would some random stranger know that going to a nude beach is something you’d never have the guts to do at home? Who cares if you and your partner decide to act out the fantasy of inviting a stranger into your bed for one night only….protected, of course. Or maybe, if that’s not your thing….you and your partner can role play. Pretend to be strangers. Let him or her pick you up in the bar and ravish you before you even make it back to your hotel room. Heck, sex on the beach is more than just a drink, you know…. (And if you have an aversion to sand, the side of a building or the back seat of a car works quite nicely, too.)

And if you don’t have a partner….it doesn’t mean you can’t have fun. Wild, hot, torrid connections are so much fun to explore. You’ve got a whole lot of options available to you. Just remember. Confidence is sexy. Pretty eyes and great smiles can seduce a person from half way across a room before a word is even spoken.

Yes, to me, sun and summertime is all about possibility and adventure with a ton of exploration. And vacation is the perfect time to leave reality behind and explore to your heart’s desire. We don’t have to go into these adventures blindly. Make sure to pack a bunch of condoms and a great quality lube… in fact, besides being organic, Aloe Cadabra is a great choice for so many reasons….and not just because they have a Piña Colada flavor. Yeah. I’m a HUGE fan. Can you tell?

Oh, and in case anyone was wondering…. So far this summer I’ve already enjoyed one concert. Hunter Hayes’ “We are not Invisible” tour with Danielle Bradbery and Dan + Shay. Next month I’m headed out to Chicago for a long weekend to visit my sister and see Blake Shelton, the Band Perry and Neal McCoy….and hopefully an outdoor concert at Ravinia, too.

Now it’s your turn…. What about summertime seduces you?

PS. For those of you who’ve read it, any adventurous likenesses to my book Three For All may have a LOT to do with my love of the season. 😉

20 thoughts on “Seduction of Summer

  1. Kristy K. James...Where Romance and Fantasy Collide says:

    There is not a single thing about summer that seduces me. I feel about hot weather like you do about snow and cold, lol. It’s like someone flips a switch on the first 70 degree day and I turn into a zombie until the 50s and 60s of autumn arrive.

    I’m very jealous of all the concerts you’re going to. I’ve been to one concert this year – a few weeks ago – for a band I’ve never heard of. They did have one hit I was sort of familiar with, but it’s never been a favorite. But my daughter wanted me to go, so I went. 😀

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Ah, well. Life wouldn’t be an adventure if we were all the same, right? By the way, I may be headed to MI for business. If I get sent close to your neck of the woods we’ll have to try to meet up!

      • anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

        Oh my god. I about died. Yup Kristy summed up my feelings too. I am SO not a summer girl. I have been melting this last week and blast that makes me cranky. I have been cursing the sun and 90+ days. I want my snow back! lol Or at least the 60s. 60s would be good.

        Hunter Hayes? LOVE him! That’s so fun you got to go to a show 🙂

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    I feel exactly the same way as Kristy! I’ve never met anyone else who will admit they don’t like summer! I melt, I tell you. MELT!

    But lovely post, Kitt. I do like swimming pools. If summer were a little longer in Seattle, I would probably need to get one to help me stay cool.

    Hugs!

  3. Tana Bevan says:

    Kitt~While I don’t particularly care for the heat, I am apparently part reptilian. By the time I begin to thaw, most living beings are dropping by the wayside from heat stroke. So for me, the greatest part of summer is the idea of actually being warm.

  4. hittingthesweetspot by Bob Skelley says:

    Less clothing on attractive women is always seductive. If you’re wrapped up in a heavy winter parka with a hood, it’s about as sexy as ice fishing. And I love the adventure that is summer vacation. You never know how much fun you can have if you just smile and let your imagination take hold. People can see it in your eyes. As they say, I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you walk away. Great post, Kitt.

  5. jansenschmidt says:

    I love the Caribbean – the clean sand, the clear water, fun times.

    I’m more of a summer person than a winter person, although I do love separate and distinct seasons. I like the snow if I don’t have to go out in it for too long (unless I’m skiing), but I don’t like the cold.

    Summer for me is a time to get out and explore and do things. It’s hard to be a writer in the summer.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  6. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    I love the summer concert tours, heading to the Jersey Shore and partying on the beach, walking the Atlantic City boardwalk, backyard BBQ’s, and taking long weekend getaways.

    Also, nothing like girls in their summer clothes!

  7. brickhousechick says:

    Kitt, mi amiga! You always have the right thing to say. After reading this, I am going to expose my bare body more to Mr. B!!!!!!! And have many libations first. Ha,ha! Nice summer you are having so far. xo

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

