Introducing Mae Clair and the Mysterious #EclipseLake

One of the biggest pleasures I’ve enjoyed while chasing my passions as a writer have been the wonderfully creative and like minded people I’ve met on my journey. As a few of you know, a couple of years ago I had an epiphany. I realized life was too short to work an ungodly amount of hours with little to no appreciation, no work/life balance, and no time to pursue my passions. So I changed my path and set sail on one of the most exciting adventures I’ve had in a long time…

I rediscovered myself and reconnected with my inner writer. As I headed down this path I realized it was important to hone my craft through constant writing; to warm up my brain and my fingers by blogging. One of my first friends when I began this blog was a kind, generous woman named Mae Clair. She was in the midst of preparing her first book for publication, a fun fantasy/historical romance called Weathering Rock (click the link to read my unsolicited review). I loved her blog, especially her Mythical Monday posts.

Although we don’t necessarily write at the same heat level, she’s got a huge fan in me. So, of course, when I found she had a new release, I volunteered to share my blog with her so we could pimp her book. In fact, if you haven’t checked out her blog or read any of her books, I challenge you, click one of the links and check her out. I promise, you won’t regret it. And now, without further ado, without any further ado, here’s a bit about Mae’s newest release, Eclipse Lake.

Eclipse Lake Final

BLURB

Small towns hold the darkest secrets.

Fifteen years after leaving his criminal past and estranged brother behind, widower Dane Carlisle returns to his hometown on the banks of sleepy Eclipse Lake. Now, a successful businessman, he has kept his troubled past a secret from most everyone, including his seventeen-year-old son.

But memories in small towns are bitter and long.

Ellie Sullivan, a nature photographer for a national magazine, has a habit of ping-ponging across the map. Her latest assignment leads her to Eclipse Lake where she becomes caught up in the enmity between Dane, his brother Jonah, and a vengeful town sheriff. When freshly-discovered skeletal remains are linked to an unsolved murder and Dane’s past, Ellie is left questioning her growing attraction for a man who harbors long-buried secrets.

EXCERPT Ellie stopped walking and turned to face him. “Why are you here?”

Dane picked up a flat stone. With a flick of his wrist he sent it skimming across the lake. It danced effortlessly across the surface as if he’d done the same thing a thousand times before. “You know that skeleton they found?”

She nodded.

“I’ve got more skeletons than a graveyard. I can’t pick up and go to another place…to the next photo shoot.” He turned to face her. “Half of my life is here and half’s on the west coast. I have to make them fit together.”

The revelation reminded her of the family she’d left behind in Idaho, reawakening a familiar tug of homesickness. In an effort to find more comfortable ground, she changed topics. “You told me you’re from San Diego. I did a photo op there four years ago. What do you do for a living?”

“I get by.” He took her hand and started walking again.

She sent a speculative glance in his direction, recognizing evasiveness when she heard it. He was wearing a Rolex, and though dressed casually, clearly had expensive taste. Yet he’d booked an ordinary cabin rather than one of the exclusive chalets higher up the mountain.

She liked the feel of his fingers around hers, warm and firm. The contact sent a pleasant tingle up her arm. What the hell was wrong with her, getting caught up in his touch as if it were magic? As if she’d waited her whole life for that sensation. He had skeletons in his past, a brother who couldn’t stand the sight of him and a sheriff who wanted to run him out of town. Eccentric, or just plain trouble?

Mae Clair 2

ABOUT MAE CLAIR

Mae Clair opened a Pandora’s Box of characters when she was a child and never looked back.  Her father, anartist who tinkered with writing, encouraged her to create make-believe worlds by spinning tales of far-off places on summer nights beneath the stars.

Mae loves creating character-driven fiction in settings that vary from contemporary to mythical. Wherever her pen takes her, she flavors her stories with mystery and romance. Married to her high school sweetheart, she lives in Pennsylvania and is passionate about cryptozoology, old photographs, a good Maine lobster tail and cats.

Discover more about Mae on her website and blog at MaeClair.net

CONTACT LINKS Website and Blog

Twitter (@MaeClair1) Google+

Facebook Author Page

Amazon Author Page

Goodreads

Purchase ECLIPSE LAKE from: Amazon

Add ECLIPSE LAKE to your Goodreads List

10 thoughts on “Introducing Mae Clair and the Mysterious #EclipseLake

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Hi, Kitt! Many thanks for shining a spotlight on ECLIPSE LAKE today, and for your kind words about my books and blogs. It’s amazing how fast time flies by, isn’t it? Has it really been two years since we hooked up?

    As always, I so appreciate your support and friendship!

  2. jansenschmidt says:

    Great way to showcase an influential person in your life, Kitt. I’ve liked and followed Mae. Now I’m off to find the book.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Mae Clair says:

      Hello, Patricia (Jansen). Thank you so much for the follows and for looking up the book. I hope you enjoy it 🙂 And many thanks to Kitt again for introducing me and ECLIPSE LAKE to her readers!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

