The Magic of Robin Williams

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t a Robin Williams fan. Yeah, I remember him as Mork. As a child I got a huge kick out of him as Popeye. But as I got older, matured, he somehow managed to touch my soul….

My passion for poetry? He seemed to understand….

Understanding that sometimes the flaws are the best (and most overlooked) parts of a relationship? Yeah, he got that, too…

I could go on and on, but instead I’ll just say a prayer for the people he loved and left behind….and for all of us who he touched along the way even though he never knew us. The magic of Robin Williams was in his depth, his intelligence, and his ability to draw out our laughter, even through his pain. He will be missed by so many.

20 thoughts on “The Magic of Robin Williams

  1. Gloria Richard Author says:

    Robin Williams hit me on a personal note as well, Kitt. He, too, was an alcoholic — in *recovery* when he did a comedy routine on alcoholism that made me laugh so hard it brought tears and bellyaches.

    *We never get to say “recovered.” One can go from a cucumber to a pickle, but can never go back.*

    News of his truly saddens me. There was a haunted soul hidden beneath that comedic front and quick wit.

    I thank God every day that I stopped adding to my alcoholic story six years + ago. And yet, this pickle can kick up her heels with the best of them at bars and parties. Need a DD? I’m your gal!

    I have no idea if RW went back out. I don’t read People et al. My heart aches for him — for whatever insidious demons drove him to take his life. It aches more for those loved ones he left behind.

    A touching tribute, Kitt.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I’m thankful for your decision 6+ years ago, too.

      As for Mr. Williams, like you, I have no idea where he may or may not have been on his path. I only care that he is gone (and will be greatly missed) & his loved ones are grieving; fighting to make sense of their worlds & the big, gaping hole he left behind. I pray God gives them strength and comfort, and that some way, somehow they all find peace.

  2. Tammy Bleck says:

    Yes, yes and YES. Thank you for this sharing. I’ve read many, but yours touched a cord of simple honesty and genuine caring. What a pleasure!

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

