Mix, Match, and Mash-Up!

This world has become a place that appreciates creative mergers. Don’t believe me? Look at the popularity of Cronuts! In the book world, think of the newer, very popular subgenre that is now falling under the Romance umbrella– Erotic Romance. Elements of romance and erotica blended together with a storyline.

And then there are music mash ups….where you take two songs and combine them into one awesome new one. It’s been a while since I’ve done a music post, but I’m in the mood to change that by sharing some of my favorite songs with you. At the end I expect you guys to share your favorite things (or songs) to blend or mash up together….

For example. I’ve always thought Rihanna’s “Umbrella” was an annoying song, but when Glee combined it with the classic, “Singin’ in the Rain,” I changed my mind. It was repurposed with a sense of fun.

And then there’s mixing old and new school R&B like the Supreme’s “Stop! In the Name of Love” with En Vogue’s “Free Your Mind.”:

And then it expanded into movies/musicals! One of my newest all time favorites is Pitch Perfect because of this combination of Bruno Mars’ “Just the Way You Are” and Nelly’s “Just a Dream.”

Of course in their final competition they had the ultimate mash up (and so many songs I can’t list them all). Boy, I can’t wait for the sequel. It comes out next year!

The really cool thing is it’s not limited to tv and movies! Creativity is exploding everywhere….. New talents being discovered. In fact, this is my favorite newest discovery! It’s a mash up of “Call Me, Maybe” and “Payphone.” Who’d have thought Carly Jepson and Maroon 5 would go so well together?

Like I said…. Now it’s your turn to share your favorite combos with me! I don’t care if it’s food, books, music….or anything else that comes to mind. I just love hearing from you guys!

12 thoughts on “Mix, Match, and Mash-Up!

  1. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    Oh how fun Kitt! I love mashups in lots of ways. In reading I love when the mates are mixed–cat shifters with dog shifters, or Southerners with Northerners. It can make for such fun combos.

    Then for music one of my favorites is David Garrett. Violin to rock.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tUrn-EESBc Plus he’s pretty damn hot. And has a little accent. He’s great live. I went to one of his shows for my birthday a few years back. The audience was a total mixmash too. High Society decked out in formal gear and then people in overalls and flipflops. All rocking out to him together. Was a blast.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Oh, yeah! I totally love when shifters mix it up. 🙂 The insults that fly are so much fun! Heck, I’m even kinda entertained when wolves and vamps get it on. Maybe that’s one the things that makes me love IAD so much by Kresley Cole….Everybody’s doing everybody. And those Valkyrie get around! 😉

      Love the song! And I love bands and solo musicians that can bring a mash up audience. The Cure is like that. People watching their concerts are hilarious. We had people dressed in their Sunday best sitting side by side with people in fet wear and collars….and both singing along. ;-D

  2. jansenschmidt says:

    I really like the Singing in the Rain/Umbrella video and song. That’s cool.

    I can’t think of any mash-ups right at the moment, but the one’s you included here are neat.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  3. ratmom says:

    I hadn’t heard a couple of those songs but you’re right they really do sound pretty good.

    I think my favorite mash up right now is violin music and rock. Could just be in my own mind but I don’t remember violin music being so great. One of the best songs that feature this is Beyond the Veil by lindsey Stirling. That song is so great.

  4. Melissa says:

    I loved the Pitch Perfect performance at the end too! My favorite music collaboration ,bar none, was when Johnny Cash covered NIN’s Hurt. Old school country and edgy alternative mixed, yet when he sang Trent’s words you could feel the his own pain echo through each word- hauntingly poignant. Have to say when fantasy and erotica really started mixing it up, made me a happy girl. Most of my favorite erotica have a few supernatural themed novels now. And also, a few of my favorite fantasy writers are putting out erotica( but most of them publish them under another name.( ie. Sophie Starr/ Tara Brown)

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Oh, I love Johnny’s take on Trent’s song, too. Brilliant & infused with such real, deep, dark pain.

      I like shifter erotica, too, but haven’t read the author you mentioned. I’ll be checking it out.

      • Melissa says:

        Tara’s erotica is BDSM themed, dark fairy tales.( at least the one of her’s I’ve read). It was Definitely a version of Cinderella I’ve never read before! Lol! Her normal writing usually is dark but not paranormal in nature. Her Lonely series is really good and her Born series is a dystopian storyline but it’s so good. It has an alternate ending to that leaves you wrung out over which one would be the better one… They are both bittersweet.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

