I is for Identity

Who are you? When you think of yourself, what physical or character traits define you? What are your strengths? Your weaknesses? Who do you try to project to the world? Are you happy with what you see?

Here’s the thing. No matter what, you’re always beautifully, uniquely you. Sometimes it just takes a while to gain the vision for yourself that those who love you share, but if you take a moment and just look deeply into yourself. At the things you do that give you a sense of pride or that bring joy or a sense of value to others. Or maybe the things that make you stand tall, shoulders back, head high…. You’ll realize there are many things to love about yourself.

A few years back I wrote a poem describing my identity, and because of my letter choice, I thought I’d re-share.

It’s called—

Kitt Bio Pic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who I Am

I’m smiles of welcome
That warms my eyes.
A clever tongue
Wielded like a sharpened knife
Or rich sweetness of honey…
The choice is always
Yours.
I’m the core of steel,
Honed
By determination, grief and God.
I’m tears at sappy movies,
Laugh out loud with books.
Words and music
Flow
Like the blood in my veins.
I believe the best,
Till worst is proven.
Faith is more than
Lip service;
infused into my heart.
Slow to anger,
And slower still
To forget.
Work hard,
Play harder….
Enjoy the raunchy.
Brutal honesty is
Valued,
Respect is earned.
Push
And I push back…
Harder.
Control is my strength
And my weakness;
I rarely let it go.
I love
Without reservations
And try to never hate.
I may bend,
Sometimes fall,
But will never be broken.

Now it’s your turn. What do you love about you? What things do you love about people you care about that maybe you wish they’d see in themselves?

6 thoughts on “I is for Identity

  1. kindredspirit23 says:

    I am learning to love myself more and more all the time. This stroke was a bummer in a lot of ways, but it has freed my mind to see, do, and think things I might never have before. I succeed more (well, a little more), but I enjoy it a lot more. It allowed me to step back, take a chance, and become published – and not just self-published (though, that was quite a trip in itself). I laugh and live now, more than ever, and trust in God most implicitly. Though I would love to be able to play volleyball again, to teach again, to run hard and exercise – though I would love all of that – the changes in my head and in myself lead me to know that God is watching over me and knows best – I think I love that best of all.
    For others, I simply wish them to know that they can be – can be all they choose. And, that I will love them for it. And for those I admire and find beautiful, sexy, and sweet – I wish you could see that too and know I mean it.
    Scott

  2. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Loving your honesty in your words. What do I love about me..tough question. My never ending love for my girls. My strength, determination and wanting to try anything. Perhaps more, but I’ll start blushing. 💋

  3. A Place to be Real says:

    Nice poem.

    I am very happy with what I see with me. I have a solid foundation built on ethical values.

    I am sincere and I have good morals. I’m generous and I don’t have a vengeful nature when someone wrongs me I let it go. I avoid conflict.

    I usually don’t have much to do with someone after they do something like steal from me or lie to me. I let it go.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

