V is for Virginity

Do you remember when you lost your virginity? Was it anything like you imagined it would be?

I remember that once upon a time, I thought it would be this big, sexy romantic deal. You know, planned out. Lots of candles and ambiance and romance. In the early stages of puberty I was torn between whether I wanted to lose it on my wedding night the way I was told “a good little girl” did or if I would simply wait till I was in love.

Although my virginity story wasn’t all candlelight and roses, it was definitely memorable in a good way.

It was also with the guy who I would eventually marry.

Yeah, yeah…. I was a total cock tease in my youth, but for some reason my virginity needed to mean something to me. I wanted it to be important to the person I chose to share it with. I’d only have it once. So I chose someone I loved. Someone who cherished me enough to take the time to make sure I was already overwhelmed with pleasure (aka orgasm) before he popped the cherry…making the endorphins and pain blend into something that was kinda sexy hawt.

The reality is that not everyone’s like me.

One of my best friends decided to wait till she got married. She doesn’t regret it. She now has two children and is perfectly thrilled to still be experimenting and exploring all sorts of fun sexiness with her man.

Another one wanted to lose her virginity to a stranger…because she imagined the whole process to be awkward, mildly painful, and embarrassing. She figured with a stranger she wouldn’t have to see him again if it turned out to be everything she pictured.

Was she wrong to think that way? Was I? What about my other friend?

Nope. None of us were.

There’s no right or wrong way to lose your cherry. The funny thing you realize thought? Regardless of what works for you (and it is all about what’s right for you), I’ve learned that it’s always memorable…

So now it’s your turn to share. What did you picture and how did it actually turn out? Regrets? No?

13 thoughts on “V is for Virginity

  1. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    LOL I nearly had a virginity rant on the blog today about virginity in romance and the slack women get if they stay a virgin into their 20s. Since obviously if you’re a virgin past 20 something must be wrong with you. *rolls eyes*

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      *snort*
      I have always been an incorrigible flirt & make no apologies for it. Back when I was about 14 a friend of my mother said that she needed to get me under control because the way I was going, I’d be pregnant by the time I was 16.
      I didn’t even lose my virginity till I was 20, not that I didn’t have ample opportunity.
      I just don’t get why people think it’s their business to judge whether or not there’s something wrong with a person based on their choices about when and how often they have sex. Key word there is choices… 🙂

  2. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    I lost mine at 15 or so. Snuck into a model home when I lived out on Long Island with this girl I was fooling around with. We did it on the bed in the master bedroom with the curtains open and the room lit with moonlight. Sure, it was fun but awkward at the same time. I never looked back after that.

  3. livrancourt says:

    I graduated high school in 1980, still very much under the influence of the 1970s (and soon Prince & Madonna), so virginity was something I wanted to get out of the way. That said, I also wanted to wait till I was 18….though I’m not sure my logic would stand up to any scrutiny. I’ve long since lost contact with the young Marine who did the deed, but I wish him all the best.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

