You Never Forget Your First…

Today is the birthday of the first celebrity I ever had a crush on. Sadly, Elvis was already dead by the time I fell in love…but his music had a way of crossing boundaries and generations. Of course, all the pre-teen me had to see was his flirtatious nature and the swivel of his hips in Blue Hawaii to fly off the deep end.

Don’t get me wrong, although Can’t Help Falling In Love is probably one of his most universally loved songs from that movie, it was his mischievous side that brought the twinkle to my eye and smile to my face.

The strange thing was that I’d actually been listening to him practically since birth, but it wasn’t until I was 11 or 12 that I saw him in a movie, flirting and swiveling his hips. I was a goner.

This was a very different side of Elvis from the one whom my parents introduced. But still, to this day, my heart appreciates that side of him, too, because it’s like he understood… having a wild streak doesn’t negate the spiritual aspects of our souls…or our need to feed it.

Although my favorite gospel song by him is In The Garden, I thought I’d throw up a tribute of some pretty amazing celebs in their own right…who knew him when he was just starting out. Plus, this one gets my toes tapping…(and I used to love singing it, myself.)

There are so many other songs I can share… tell stories about how they’ve impacted me and why, but then this post would probably be weeks long. Instead, I’ll share with you 3 of my all time favorite Elvis gifts I’ve been given.

Elvis gold record of Teddy Bear given by hubby while we were dating

Elvis gold record of Teddy Bear given by hubby while we were dating

It’s funny because when hubby gave me this gift, I didn’t know if he did it because he was trying to send me a message about himself or because he knew how much I loved the King. Either way, this gift is one of my priceless treasures.

A Silk Screen printed Elvis jacket from my sister

A Silk Screen printed Elvis jacket from my sister

I don’t know if my sister even knows I still have this jacket as I rarely wear it. It’s a treasure, and with Florida weather often being what it is, I’d hate to sweat in this awesome gift. Also, I don’t have many tops that match… 😉

Again, from hubby... "Return to Sender"

Again, from hubby… “Return to Sender”

Gosh, I love how Elvis’ eyes were superimposed into the background of this limited edition collectible. Yeah, even all these decades later I still have a mad crush on young Elvis. Strangely enough, I’ve never been to Graceland…Hmmm…maybe that needs to go on my bucket list.

So, do you remember your first celebrity crush? Who was it and why? Is the lucky recipient still with us or has he/she passed on? Can’t wait to see who you guys share…. And I’ll leave you with my last (and all time favorite) Elvis song while I look forward to your answers.

 

46 thoughts on “You Never Forget Your First…

  1. Mae Clair says:

    My nephew is a huge Elvis admirer. Those are some awesome collectibles you have, Kitt. What wonderful gifts. Thinking back, I believe my first celebrity crush was Michael Landon. Bonanza had gone off the air by then, but I discovered it in reruns when I was a teen and was immediately smitten with Little Joe. And yes, I have been to the Ponderosa in Lake Tahoe, LOL! That means you have to get to Graceland.

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Awww! I LOVE Michael Landon. Of course, I was first introduced to him as Paw from Little House. His characters were always so good hearted! I think my fave role with him was in Highway to Heaven. I’m going to have to watch some Bonanza to familiarize myself better with Little Joe…not that I didn’t know he played the character, I did. I just never really watched the show!

      Adding Graceland next to Hawaii and the Mediterranean. 😉

  2. ramblingsfromamum says:

    Love Elvis always have – always will. First crushes – Michael Landon as another mentioned. Oh dear have to say it don’t I – Davy Jones from the Monkeys, ‘Keith’ from the Partridge Family. Then the norm Steve McQueen, Robert Redford, PAUL NEWMAN!!! I could go on and on – I lusted after many – sadly they did not know I existed 😦

  3. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    Elvis is still the King of Rok and Roll. Always will be. We listen to his music still, and have his Christmas CD’s.

  4. Reflections says:

    No laughing – Donny Osmond! LOL. And yes, I think I still go weak in the knees when he sings Puppy Love. Silly for a 53 year old woman.

    BTW – I was lucky enough to see Elvis live in concert the year he went to the Niagara Falls Convention Center. My Mom was a huge Elvis fan and loved him from the very first swivel. My Dad had to work so he made me and my brother Sam go with her to the concert. I was 12 and didn’t want to go hear this old guy sing! Well, I ended up on my feet and dancing and singing along and having a great time. He was quite a showman and had natural charisma that you could feel coming off the stage. Its still one of my favorite memories. And yes I capped it off with a trip to Graceland some years back. Thanks for the smile…

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      I would never laugh. I actually LIKE Donny. I think he’s very talented & he aged well. He was also a total sweetheart when he competed on DWTS. A consummate pro. I find that to be a very attractive trait.

  5. Professor Taboo says:

    Grrrrrr, answering your ending question(s) will SO date me and I will possibly regret answering them Kat! *gives scowling eyes to you*

    I also prefer to give both gendered favorites based on talent, not personal fantasies (duh). 😛

    Female celebrity: Anne Margaret (well, alright…there are a few personal fantasies with her; you got me!). Why? She could simply look at me and render me deaf, dumb, and paralyzed. If she spoke to me, or worse whispered in my ear… game over! Get the defibrillator zappers….CLEAR!!!

    Male celebrity: Peter O’Toole. Why? Isn’t it obvious? Any character he played made it monumentally better. Oscar? Again!? 🙂

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Hmmm… Isn’t it interesting that my crush & yours had a very unique and notorious history together….? She and Bacall did have the market cornered on whiskey soaked voices, no?

      I can also see the appeal of Peter O’Toole. I don’t know if I could ever limit my girl crushes down to just one. I did a post early into my blogging history & had trouble narrowing it down to 5! 😉

      • Professor Taboo says:

        “Whiskey soaked voices.” Perfect description Kitt! Yes, those images of Bacall and Margaret with the light only upon their eyes…Wow! My skin gets tingly just remembering them. Angie Dickinson is another one of mine. And O’Toole (RIP) is definitely in my Top 3 along with Sean Connery and James Stewart. So many greats, huh?

  6. Cowboys and Crossbones says:

    Oh be still my beating heart…Elvis. *sigh* Have you ever been to Graceland? I can’t think of my first celeb crush…isn’t that kind of awful? But I’ve had plenty! Oh, and Teddy Bear wants your Teddy Bear record.

  7. jansenschmidt says:

    I love Elvis. I listened to his music as a youngster but he was already in the post-hunky stage when I used to watch him on t.v. Those jumpsuits were something else. His movies are hokey but cool and there are very few Elvis songs that don’t ring a bell with me.

    I have been to Graceland and I have the T-shirt and ticket stub to prove it. It’s cool but waaaaay smaller than you’d expect. The house itself is quite modest in size and because there’s so much crazy stuff packed in there it seems even smaller. The Jungle Room is nutty and the blue and yellow mirror room is rather like a fun house, but the whole experience is amazing. I was stunned at how many people, even still, place flowers on the family graves each day. The headstones were completely surrounded with flowers and gifts from mourners, even decades later.

    Another reason to like you, Kitt.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  8. Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB) says:

    I toured Graceland when I was in Memphis a couple of years ago, but the place I got a real sense of music history was when I visited Sun Studios. It really blew my mind to be in the studio where so many important music figures had recorded albums. Our tour guide encouraged everyone to lick the microphone that Elvis had sang into, but nobody did 😉

  9. kindredspirit23 says:

    It’s so interesting. I have had a lot of celebrity crushes (still do when I feel like it!). But one of my very early ones was Yvonne Craig who played Batgirl on the early Batman with Adam West. What’s interesting is that she was in two of Elvis’ movies, so I bought them a few weeks ago on Amazon for a few dollars. I will watch them someday, but it makes my heart flutter just a bit to know she’s on them.

Don't Be Shy, Reply!

