So What’s Under Your Kilt?

I’m a sucker for Highlanders. I admit it. In fact, Julie Garwood spoiled with characters like Alec Kinkaid and Ian Maitland. The Bride was probably my first ever “trashy” romance. So when my awesome blog buddy, Jessi Gage, came out with her first book entitled Wishing For A Highlander, I was stoked! There’s not a lot sexier than a man in a kilt….

Wishing For A Highlander

Since I absolutely love Highlanders, I’ll kick this off by telling you a little bit about my favorite new Highlander, Darcy. He’s got a problem most modern day men would love to have. He’s young, handsome, in line to become the next laird of his clan…and he’s got an extremely large dirk. Unfortunately, a vengeful witch (well, okay…she’s really more of a bitch) convinced him that no woman would want him because he was too big. In this day of technology and internet, it sounds laughable, right? I mean, how often do we hear guys talking about the size of their daggers? If you’re female…and have spent any time on the internet…you hear it all too often. Unfortunately for him, windmills were about as advanced as their technology went, so he couldn’t exactly check with Google or WebMD. (Of course, then he might have been convinced that he had elephantitis or something even worse, but that’s a story for another day.) So here’s this hot warrior with a sexy Scottish brogue…and he’s a virgin. That ain’t right.

Fortunately, his answer comes to him from the future in the form of a museum worker named Melanie. As she prepares to head home, she sees this old artifact, a box with a mysterious past and mutters a wish for a sexy highlander. In my universe, the guy would magically appear in front of me. Thankfully, this book uses Jessi Gage’s imagination, because she transports Melanie back in time and lands her smack in the middle of a clan war and in need of rescue. Don’t get me wrong, this is a modern woman…she saves herself from the first skirmish, but being out of her time (and pregnant…did I forget to mention that?) has her a little out of sorts and needing a team assist. And in runs Darcy…literally.

For a few, that would be enough conflict to make the story interesting, but Jessi Gage is no average story teller. She takes it up a notch with action that keeps you on your toes and enough plot twists to make you feel like you’ve just hit the corkscrew on a roller coaster ride! The best part? The heroine is no wilting violet, but a strong, capable woman. And the hero? Whoa, baby! Hot, smart and brave…in a kilt! And a nice strong sword to sheathe in the right woman. Just the way I like ’em.

If you haven’t found your lifetime love(s) yet, this book will definitely have you wondering if maybe you’re just in the wrong century…and if you’ve got a Highlander waiting somewhere for you.

Have you read Jessi’s book yet? If not, what are you waiting for? She’s fantastic! If so, what did you think of Darcy and Melanie?

On a final note, it is incredibly hard to insert foreign accents, brogues and other languages into books and still sound utterly natural…and she does a stellar job! Jessi is an awesome writer with unlimited potential….and she’s a wonderful person, too. I strongly encourage you to check out her blog, follow her on Facebook or Twitter, or buy her book. You won’t regret it!

36 thoughts on “So What’s Under Your Kilt?

  1. awkwardcharm says:

    {Squeal!!} OH MY GOSH!! Do NOT mention The Bride to me! I only read that book about 534 times in high school!!! (I too love a Highlander). Guess which book I’m reading this weekend…

    -ps- You might also like Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. It’s not as steamy…but still good and the lead character is stupidly sexy Highlander with a rather large…erm… dirk of his own.

    Like

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      LOL! Actually, I have read the Outlander series…and the first couple were pretty good, but I had a bit of an issue with the whole adultery aspect…which killed some of the joy of that series for me. The hero was awesome, but the heroine became a bit blah to me.

      I can’t wait to hear what you think of this book. It’s to be part of a series as well. Woot!

      Like

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    Kitt, you’ve made my day! Actually, like my whole week. Possibly my whole June. What with toddler tooth decay and in laws living with us (both sets, if you can believe it!) it’s been a hectic June. Thanks SO much for your kind comments about Wishing for a Highlander. I’m thrilled you liked it. Hugs to you, my dear! And thanks for keeping my toe tapping with your musically inspired blog! Love visiting you here!

    Like

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Aw! I’m so glad. Both in-laws? Eep! AND toddler teeth issues? Yup, no doubt about it. You’ve got your hands full! Deep breaths, my lady. If you need a venting board, you know how to find me. As for your book? It was no hardship on my part, believe me. You did all the work…I got to sit back and reap the benefits. It was AWESOME!!!! (Glad you like the music I’ve been sharing, too.)

      Like

  3. Mae Clair says:

    I love your reviews, Kitt. They’re always so colorful!

    I completely agree with you on WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER. I loved this book, melted over Darcy, and adored how Jessi added brogue so effortlessly. Talk about a flavorful read! 😀

    Like

    • Kitt Crescendo says:

      Thanks, Mae! I try to do justice to the books and the fabulous authors who wrote them. 🙂 As for Jessi’s Highlander book… I loved how effortlessly she tossed brogue in there. The characters were engaging and the plot was a blast.

      Like

  4. Jessi Gage says:

    Thanks again, Kitt! I’m working hard on finishing up the second book in the series now, so hopefully there will be more Highland shenanigans to come!

    Thanks everybody for the love! I’m feeling it and glowing!

    Like

  5. Professor Taboo says:

    Then I guess I shouldn’t tell you Kitt that as a former pro soccer player and my Steampunkothic dance-club wear, that I have three kilts, one with lots of leather, steel-rings, and chain? 😉

    Like

Don't Be Shy, Reply!